Athletics: Mick Clohisey and Sarah McCormack Take Senior Inter-Club Cross Country Titles

Michael Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock AC) and Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers AC) shared the spoils at the Woodie’s DIY Inter Club & Juvenile Inter County Relay Cross Country Championships of Ireland in Dundalk IT on Sunday. 

Dundrum South Dublin AC dominated the team prizes sweeping the board in the junior and senior categories.

Clohisey and Gary Thornton (Galway City Harriers AC) blasted into an early lead on the first lap of the 12,000m senior men’s race. Defending champion Sergiu Cibanu (Clonliffe Harriers AC) found the pace too severe as he settled into third place. A great battle between Clohisey and Thornton ensued over the six lap course as both athletes took their turn in the lead. Clohisey made a bold move with just over a lap remaining and moved 20m clear of Thornton.  The effort proved successful as the Raheny man powered to victory in a time of 39.09. Thornton finished second in a time of 39.19, Cibanu third in a time of 39.34 and John Travers (Donore Harriers AC) fourth (40.12).

Dundrum South Dublin won the team title with a score of 35 points, Clonliffe Harriers AC were just behind in second on 35 points and Donore Harriers third on 59 points.

The senior women’s proved to be the most exciting race of the day with Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers AC), Michelle McGee (Brothers Pearse AC) and Maria McCambridge (Dundrum South Dublin AC) battling it out. Marathon specialist McCambridge tried to use her strength to shake off the opposition with all three women running stride by stride for the majority of the 8,000m contest.

McGee made her bid for victory with a lap to go however McCormack and McCambridge dug deep to stay in contention. McCormack made her own move with a little over 300m remaining to sprint to a fine victory in a time of 29.41. McGee dug deep to hold on for second place in a time of 29.48, with McCambridge just behind in third (29.50). DSD won the team title with a score of 26 points ahead of Raheny Shamrock AC on 31 points and Clonliffe Harriers third on 50 points.

In the junior men’s race there was a great battle for the title between Aaron Hanlon (Clonliffe Harriers AC) and Kevin Mulcaire (Ennis Track AC). Hanlon was always to the fore of the race with Mulcaire tracking every move as both athletes opened up a sizeable gap over the rest of the field. Mulcaire applied the pressure over the final lap to record an impressive victory in a time of 19.46 with Hanlon second in a time of 19.54. Brendan O’Connor (An Riocht AC) won the bronze medal in a time of 20.54. DSD won the team title with 29 points, Clonliffe Harriers second on 40 points and Ennis Track third on 55 points.

Sarah Miles (Dundrum South Dublin AC) reeled in long- time leader Clodagh O’Reilly to win the junior women’s title. O’Reilly tried her best to shake off the DSD athlete but Miles proved too strong as she coasted to victory in a time of 15.32. O’Reilly hung on for second in a time of 16.00 with Isabelle Odlum also of DSD finishing third in a time of 16.19. As expected Dundrum South Dublin won the team title with a score of 13 points ahead of Clonliffe Harriers on 36 points.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.