Full Irish team for Euro indoors

Dan Mulhare from North Laois AC has been added to the Irish team for the European Athletics Championships in Paris. Mulhare won the Irish Indoor 3000m title at The Odyssey Arena in Belfast in February. He followed that up by winning the Scottish Indoor 3000m Championships at The Kelvin Hall in a new personal best time of 8:01:00.

Mulhare has been in good form in cross-country races all winter and competed for Ireland in the senior men’s race in last December’s European Cross Country Championships in Portugal. He also took he silver medal over 1500m at last summer’s Irish Track & Field Championships.

Ray Flynn of Athletics Ireland said:

“Dan Mulhare is the National 3000m Indoor Champion for 2011 and has made significant progress as a developing athlete recently. This is an ideal opportunity to blood him in a major championship as Dan hasn’t been exposed to one before and the experience will no doubt develop him further in the future.”

The Irish Team for the 31st European Athletics Indoor Championships is:

Derval O’Rourke (Leevale AC) – 60m Hurdles (SB – 8:03 – 8th fastest in Europe this year)
Ailis McSweeney (Leevale AC) – 60m (SB – 7:32 – 24th fastest in Europe this year)
Mary Cullen (North Sligo AC) – 3000m (SB – 8:53:01 – 8th fastest in Europe this year)
Tori Pena (Finn Valley AC) – Pole Vault (SB – 4m 30 – Irish Record – European top 20 this year)
Kelly Proper (Ferrybank AC) – Long Jump (SB – 6:44 – 30th best jump in Europe this year)
Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers AC) – 400m (SB – 46:82 – 11th fastest in Europe this year)
Darren McBrearty (Letterkenny AC) – 800m (SB – 1:47:87 – 14th fastest in Europe this year)
Marian Heffernan (Togher AC) – 400m (SB – 54:00 – European top 30 time)
Dan Mulhare (North Laois AC) – 3000m (SB – 8:01:00 – European top 40 time)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.