Boxing : Ireland Names 18 strong squad for 12th European Schoolboys Championships

The IABA selectors have named an 18-strong squad for the 12th European Schoolboy Championships commencing in Hungary June 30th.

The entire squad claimed Junior Cadet Championships titles at the National Stadium last Saturday.
The Irish squad will go into training camp at the National Stadium Wednesday  June 18th, ahead of the start of the European Championships on June 30th,at the Helikon Hotel and Conference Centre in Keszthely.

Ireland has a distinguished history at this level.

Our talented young boxers have repeatedly battled their way into the business end of the tournament since its inception in Rome in 2003, securing a grand total of 60 medals. Over the last eleven years, Ireland has never failed to win a medal at the tournament.

David Joyce, Carl Frampton, who is slated to challenge for a World pro title anon, Keith Boyle, John McDonagh, David Oliver Joyce, a two-time winner over AIBA World Elite champion Domenico Valentino, and Beijing 2008 Olympian John Joe Joyce took home one gold, one silver and four bronze medals from the Rome event.

Less than 12 months later, another four medals were plundered in Hungary. Willie O’Reilly and Stephen O”Reilly struck double gold in Siofok in the 40kg and 68kg classes courtesy of wins over Ukrainian compatriots Andriej Knieziew and Jewgoenij Ustymienko. Darren Cruise (silver) and Ryan Brady (bronze) also finished in podium positions.

The records from the 3rd Championships in Tver, Russia are incomplete.  What can be confirmed  is that eventual silver medalist Darragh Power was beaten by Alexander Besputin of Russia in the flyweight final and David Joe Joyce, David Joyce, Bernard Roe and AIBA World Elite quarter-finalists Tommy McCarthy secured a quartet of bronze medals after reaching their respective semi-finals.

Twelve months later in Nikolayev, Ukraine, Anthony Upton, Fergal McCrory and Tommy Kiely bagged at hat-trick of bronze medals, while the class of 2007 secured one of our greatest hauls in Portsmouth, England in 2007.

Michael Reilly and Michael McDonagh both beat Russian opponents to win gold, while Joe Ward, who went  on to win AIBA World Junior and Youth gold and a European Senior title, earned a silver medal. George Bates, Christy Joyce, Chris Mullaly, Ray Ginley and Daniel O’Brien won bronze to complete a fantastic tournament.

Joe Ward with Irish coaches Billy Walsh and Zuar Antia at World Championships 2013 in KazakhstanJoe Ward – the only athlete in the history of international boxing to win three AIBA World Junior, Youth and Elite medals as a teenager – won silver at the 2007 European Schoolboy Championships

At the 2008 edition in Novi Sad, Dylan Carr was the only Irish boxer to medal. Carr reached the semi-finals in Serbia but was beaten by Russia’s Ruslan Gilmanov in the 54kg class. The 2009 edition was hosted in Anapa, Russia. Victor Medveduic and Gerard Whitehouse won two bronze medals by the banks of the Black Sea.

One year later, in Gambol, Bulgaria, John Joyce was outrageously adjudged to have lost his semi-final to Russia’s Ivan Dubovik and had to settler for bronze. Such was the consternation provoked by that result – and Irish team manager Patrick’s Gallagher’s report didn’t pull any punches – that Joyce was presented with the Boxer of the Tournament award. Wayne Kelly and Michael Gallagher also won bronze in Anapa.

Joyce vowed in Gambol that he would return for the 2011 European Schoolboy Championships and win gold. He remained true to that promise, as 12 months later he beat Russia’s Miroslav Peshkov in the 2011 final in Grozny, Russia to secure the gold medal he was denied the opportunity to compete for in Bulgaria.

James Cleary (silver), Matthew Burke (silver), and Craig Bonney, Lewis Crocker, Sean Conroy, Tiernan Bradley and Keelan Sexton with four bronze medals wins completed a fine outing for the Boys in Green in Grozny.

James Cleary (red)James Cleary (red)

Meanwhile, the 2012 squad secured Ireland’s greatest haul at this level after taking home ten medals from Anapa, Russia.

Oliver McCarthy, James McGivern and Michael Nevin won gold and John Sweeney took home silver. James Clarke, Nevan Fannon, Darragh Murray, Brett McGinty, Kieran Molloy and Francie Stokes claimed bronze.

Ireland finished in second spot in the medals table behind Russia in Anapa.

Aaron McKenna, Jordan Myers, Barry McReynolds, Sean Whelan, twin brothers Jamie and Jason Harty, Paul Ryan,Dominic Bradley, Leon Gallagher and Jordan Joyce won two gold, five silver and three bronze medals at the IABA hosted at the 19-nation 2013 European Championships at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin.

Ireland finished in 3rd spot in the medals table.

Irish squad 12th European Schoolboy Champions Keszthely, Hungary


38.5kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michael’s Athy)

40kg Luke Hurley (Tramore)

41.5kg Brandon O’Brien (The Borrough)

43kg Danny Reilly (St Brigids Kildare)

44.5kg Lorcan Hurley (Tramore)

46kg Barry Reynolds (Holy Trinity)

48kg Michael Delaney (Olympic)

50kg James Mongan (Bay City)

52kg Conal Ross (Dockers)

54kg Edgar Vuskans (Glengormley)

56kg Pierce O’Leary (Docklands)

59kg Sean Dempsey (Realt na Mara)

62kg Kane Tucker (St John Bosco )

65kg Nathan Rogers (Neilstown)

68kg Tommy Duffy (Loughlynn)

72kg Dylan Cadwell (Portlaoise)

76kg Michael Walsh (Holy Family )

76+kg Tom Gavin (Edenmore)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here