Boxing: Irish schoolboys set to conquer Europe?

Ireland’s young boxers travelled to Russia on Saturday ahead of the opening bell for the 2012 European Schoolboy Championships.

The European Boxing Federation and Boxing Federation of Russia hosted Championships, the 10th in the edition, is scheduled to begin at the Kubanskaya Niva venue in Anapa tomorrow.

The Irish squad completed a ten-day training camp at the National Stadium in Dublin ahead of the 10th anniversary of the Continental deciders.

That camp went according to plan, and Irish team manager Paddy Gallagher is confident that the 18-strong panel will do their country proud at the Black Sea holiday resort.

“The squad shaped up very well in the training camp and they got a lot of work done over the ten days at the National Stadium and they are all looking forward to the tournament,” he said.

Gallagher continued: “If they perform to the best of their abilities I would be confident that they will do well in Anapa.
“Some of our lads have competed at this level before and that experience will obviously stand to them and to the rest of the squad in what should be a very competitive tournament.”

The draw for the 2012 Championships will take place at 11am (local time) – Anapa is three hour ahead of Ireland – next Tuesday.
Boxing will commence after the draw followed by the opening ceremony followed by a further session of preliminary round bouts next Tuesday evening.

Ireland’s boxers have won 40 medals at European Schoolboy level since the inaugural tournament in Rome in 2003.
The 18 strong squad represents 12 counties showing just how much the sport has grown in Ireland in recent years
Irish squad 2012 European Schoolboy Championships, Anapa, Russia, October 2nd – 7th, 2012

38.5kg: Nathan May (Crumlin, Dublin)
40kg: Francie Stokes (Oak Leaf, Derry)
41.5kg: Conor Quinn (Clonard, Antrim)
43kg: Aaron McKenna (Smithboro, Monaghan)
44.5kg: Sean Purcell (Marble City, Kilkenny)
46kg: Oliver McCarthy (Brian Dillons, Cork)
48kg: James McGivern (St Georges, Antrim)
50kg: John Sweeney (Inisfree, Sligo)
52kg: Michael Nevin (Portlaoise, Laois)
54kg: Matthew Davis (Ardagh/Cross, Mayo)
56kg: Kieran Molloy (Oughterard, Galway)
59kg: Brett McGinty (Oak Leaf, Derry)
62kg: Christopher O’Reilly (Bracken, Dublin)
65kg: Darragh Murray (South Meath, Meath)
68kg: Brian Kennedy (Daingean, Offaly)
72kg: Marcus Oteide (Olympic, Galway)
76kg: Nevan Fannon (Ballyhaunis, Mayo)
76+kg: James Clarke (Kilnamanagh, Dublin)
Director of Boxing: Dominic O’Rourke
Team Manager: Paddy Gallagher
Team Coaches: Dmitry Dimitrov,Fergal McKenna, Brian Barry
R&J: Philip Rooney


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.