Boxing: National Youth Championships reaches semi-finals stage

Two reigning AIBA World Junior champions will be in action in Saturday’s National Open Youth Championships semi-finals at Dublin’s National Stadium.

Willie O’Donoghue, St Michael’s Athy BC, and Ciara Ginty, Geesala BC, will be between the ropes at the home of Irish boxing.


Ginty, the current AIBA World Junior Champion and Female Boxer of the Year, meets current European  champion Amy Broadhurst in what could be the stand out bout of the weekend.

In the other 60kg semi-final, Mayo’s Ciara Sheedy meets Cheyanne O’Neill from the Athlone BC in what promises to be another outstanding contest.


European and EU Youth and Junior champions Gary Cully, Kristina O’Hara and Grainne Gavin will also be in action.


The Olympic BC are guaranteed to have one boxer in the Youth finals as club-mates Francis Barrett and Frankie Cleary go-head-to-head in one of the flyweight semi-finals.


The Open Youth Championships are being run in conjunction with the National Novice Championships, the semi-finals of which will be decided tonight.


The IABA are using the Open Youth Championships to assist with their selection process for the AIBA World Men’s and Women’s Youth Championships in Bulgaria in April.


The World Youth Championships will act as the only qualifier for the Olympic Youth Championships in China in August.




Novice Championships S/Finals January 17th (6pm)


57kg Ciara Corcoran (Brosna) V Sarah Kiely (Dungarvan)


57kg Adela Sadowskic (Sav Crystal) V Orla McInerney (Monivea)


57kg James Gray (Golden Cobra) V Liam McKenna (Clonmel)


57kg Leigh Ryan (St Pauls Wat) V John McAteer (Ballincollig)


60kg Emma Sherlock (Mun) V Averyl Fryday (Mun)


60kg Theo Allen (Cookstown) V Glen Byrne (St Margarets D)


60kg David Doyle (Clonmel) V Pearse Burke (St Davids Naas)


63kg Daisy Tysall (Tullamore) V Donna Owens (Derrylin)


64kg Barry Kennedy (Ballinacarrow) V Thomas Boyd (Thurles)


64kg Colin O’Donovan (Togher) V David Maguire (Dealgan)


67kg Sean Kilkenny (Sean McDermott) V Darragh Moore (Corpus Christi)


67kg Thomas Finn (St Nicholas) V Glen Clarke (Carrickmacross)


70kg Stacey Sloan (Eglington) V Gillian Duffy(Bray)


70kg Nichola Garvey (Claremorris) V Jessica Shine (Leeside Lough)


71kg Jason Byrne (St Margarets D) V Neil Higgins (Tobhar Pheadair)


71kg Shane O’Neill (Togher) V Owen Duffy (Carrickmacross)


75kg Ray Barrett (Rathkeale) V Andrew Begley (Crumlin)


75kg Jason Loonam (St Carthages) V Mark Wright (City of Belfast)


81kg Pawel Borkowsky (Bray) V Gerard Cashen (St Bridgets E)


81kg Michael O’Leary (Riverstown) V Ruairi Haughey (Carrickmore)


85kg Hugh Tierney (Kilcullen) V Joe Hirst (Ballinacarrow)


85kg Paul Brown (St Aidans) V John Broughton (Mullingar)


91kg Nikos Constantinidis (Togher) V John Barry (Corpus Christi)


91kg Craig Donnelly (St Bernadettes V John Connors (Thurles)


91+kg Daniel McIlroy (Cookstown) V Marcin Skalski (Athlone)


91+kg Conor Brady (St Bernadettes) V Robert Byrne (Dunboyne)




Open Youth Championships S/Finals January  18th (11am)


49kg Regan Buckley (Bray) V Liam Callaghan (Carndonagh)


49kg Luke O’Shea (Ballincollig) V Brendan Irvine (St Pauls A)


51kg Lauren Hogan (St Bridgets E) V Grainne Gavin (Castlebar)


51kg Kristina O’Hara (Emerald U) V Rebecca Gorman (Clann Naofa)


52kg Thomas Mongan (Iliies GG) V Willie Donoghue (St Michaels Athy)


52kg Frankie Cleary (Olympic) V Francis J Barrett (Olympic)


56kg Gary Cully (St Davids Naas) V Brad White (Maynooth)


56kg Adam Cross (Lucan) V Conor Walsh (Tramore)


60kg Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone) V Ciara Sheedy (Aglish)


60kg Ciara Ginty (Geesala) V Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan)


60kg Tiernan Bradley (Sacred Heart O) V Sennan Kelly (St Saviours OBA)


60kg Michael Devlin (St Bridgets U) V Aidan Walsh (Holy Family GG)


64kg Shane O’Neill (St Davids Naas) V Mark McCole (Dungloe)


64kg Wayne Kelly (Ballinacargy) V Michael McDonagh (St Pauls Waterford




S/Finals (3pm)


69kg Lewis Crocker (Holy Trinity) V Michael Reilly (Tramore)


69kg Caomhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) V Brian Ward (St Ailbhes)


75kg John G Lawrence (Eagle) V Ferghus Quinn (Camlough)


75kg Luke Thomas (Watergrasshill) V Mark McIlhenny (Convoy)


81kg Cormac Long (Rathkeale) V Thomas Stephens (St Marys NR)


81kg Thomas McDonagh (St Annes) V Sean Conroy (Ballyhaunis)


91kg Gary Maughan (Cavan) V James Mullaney (Paulstown)


91kg James Hughes (Ryston) V Michael Gallagher (Finn Valley)


91+kg Niall Gallagher (Sean McDermott)V Darragh Darcy (Tobhar Pheadair)


91+kg Shane Ward (Titans) V Dennis Gifford (Bracken)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.