Boxing: Quigley’s future in doubt

Jason Quigley is the “big name” missing from the entries for this year’s  Elite National Championships – that has led to much speculation among boxing fans that he may be about to switch to the Pro ranks.

SportsNewsIreland understands that no final decision has been made and thus their remains the possibility that he may still decide to remain a member of the Irish Elite squad.  More on Quigley and the rest of the Championships  tomorrow.


This year, finals will be spread over two nights with the men’s finals on Friday 7th  March and the women’s the following night.


The opening bell for the 2014  Elite National Championships will toll at 7pm Friday  February 21st, at the National Stadium. The Championships continue on Saturday.



IABA Registrar Stephen Connolly said that it is possible that three sessions (11am,2pm, and 7pm) will be held Saturday. He added that this will be confirmed after Friday’s weigh-in.


Friday’s weigh-in will be held between 8am and 11am at the National Stadium. The draw will be held at approximately 1:30pm tomorrow and will be published








Friday 21st & Saturday 22nd February


At Door Adults: €10


Under 14’s €5




Friday 28th February & Saturday 1st March7


At Door     Adults: €20


Under 14’s €5




Friday 7th March


All Ticket  €50 Ringside    €40 Angles & Balcony    €30 Gallery




8th March


All Tickets  €25 or €10 (with Men’s Finals ticket)


Season tickets still available at €150


Further details on session and tickets ph: (01) 4533371 &


So Jason Quigley apart who has entered the 2014 Championships?

And who won the title in 2013?  All is revealed here:





48kg – Light-flyweight – Catherine O’Grady (Clann Naofa), Lynn Harvey (Crumlin), Lynn McEnery-O’Shea (St Pauls, Waterford), Maeve Clarke (Ballinacarrow)

Defending champion: Vacant – Hannah Carthy won the title in 2013 but did not register before the February 18th  deadline to compete in the 2014 Championships


51kg – Flyweight – Ceire Smith (Cavan)

Defending champion: Ceire Smith (Cavan)


54kg – Bantamweight –  Dervla Duffy (Ryston), Michaela Walsh (Holy Family)

Defending champion: Dervla Duffy (Ryston)


57kg – Featherweight – Joanne Lambe (Carrickmacross), Carly McNaul (Eastside), Lyndsey Doyle (Gorey)

Defending champion: Vacant – Michaela Walsh won the title in 2013 but has dropped down to 54kg


60kg –Lightweight –  Katie Taylor (Bray), Alanna Murphy (Eastside)

Defending champion: Katie Taylor (Bray)


64kg – Light-welterweight – Debbie O’Reilly (Olympic), Kelly Harrington (Corinthians), Moira McElligott (Rathkeale), Sarah Close (Holy Family)

Defending champion: Kelly Harrington (Corinthians)


69kg – Welterweight -Laoise Traynor (Bray), Clare Grace (Callan), Joanne Barclay (Holy Family), Aoife Hennigan (Swinford)

Defending champion: Clare Grace (Callan)


75kg – Middleweight –  Claire Sweetman (Palmerstown), Sinead Kavanagh (Drimnagh)

Defending champion: Sinead Kavanagh (Drimnagh)


81kg – Light-heavyweight – Caroline Connolly (——–), Aisling Byrne (Paulstown)

Defending champion: Vacant


81kg+ – Heavyweight – Fiona Nelson (City of Belfast), Diana Campbell (Garda), Lianne McAree- Murphy (Carrickmacross)

Defending champion: Lianne McAree-Murphy (Carrickmacross)




49kg – Light-flyweight – Thomas J Waite (Cairn Lodge), Blaine Dobbins (St Josephs, Derry), Hughie Myers (Ryston), Paddy Barnes (Holy Family)

Defending champion: Hughie Myers (Ryston)


52kg – Flyweight –  Sean Higginson (St John Bosco), Myles Casey (St Francis), Darren Campbell (Glin), Chris Phelan (Ryston, Defence Forces), Ruairi Dalton (Holy Trinity), Adam Courtney (St Marys, Dublin)

Defending champion: Vacant  – Michael Conlan won the 52kg title in 2013 but has moved up to 56kg


56kg – Bantamweight – Barry Walsh (St Colmans), Hugh Joyce (St Michaels Athy), Anthony O’Rawe (Braid), Michael Conlan (St John Bosco), Aidan Metcalfe (Crumlin), Carl McDonald (Golden Cobra, Gary McKenna (Old School), Tyrone McCullagh (Holy Family), Kurt Walker (Canal)

Defending champion: Vacant – Declan Geraghty won the 56kg title in 2013 but has moved up to 60kg


60kg – Lightweight –  David Oliver Joyce (St Michaels Athy), Keith Flavin (Paulstown), Jonathan Rodgers (St Brigids, Newry), Martin Noonan (Riverstown), Gerard Matthew (St Pauls, Antrim), Declan Geraghty (Crumlin), Francis Campbell (Crumlin), Adam Foley (Glin), Paul Lyons (Carrick-On Suir), Danny Coughlan (St Annes), Sean McComb (Holy Trinity), Joe Fitzpatrick (Immaculata), George Bates (St Marys, Dublin), James McDowell (UL), Kevin Fennessey (Clonmel)

Defending champion: Sean McComb (Holy Trinity)


64kg – Light-welterweight – Patrick Mongan (Olympic, Defence Forces), Eric Donovan (St Michaels Athy),  Noel Murphy (Macroom), Michael Nevin (Portlaoise), Liam Walsh (St Josephs/St Ibars), Jason Conroy (Crumlin), Rohan Date (St Pauls, Waterford), Paul Hyland (Gleann), Niall Murray (Gorey), Dean O’Gorman (Carrick-On Suir), Ray Moylette (St Annes), Mark O’Hara (Holy Trinity), Sean Duffy (Holy Trinity), Bernaldo Marime (Holy Trinity), Ciaran Bates (St Marys, Dublin), Sean Montgomery (Canal)

Defending champion: Vacant – Ross Hickey (Grangecon) won the 64kg title in 2013 but has not entered the 2014 Championships because of an arm injury


69kg – Welterweight – Adam Nolan (Bray), Brian Brosnan (Olympic, Defence Forces), John Joe Joyce (St Michaels Athy) Stephen Donnelly (All Saints), David Roche (Riverstown), Mark McNamara (St Francis), Phil Maloey (St Francis), Petru Ursu (Lucan). Martin Wall (Crumlin), Craig McCarthy (St Pauls, Waterford), John Harty (Rathkeale), Fergal Redmond (Arklow), Brian Duffy (Sean Dorans)

Defending champion: Adam Nolan (Bray)


75kg – Middleweight – Tony Beaune (Cabra), Christy Joyce (St Michaels Athy),  Roy Sheahan (St Michaels Athy), Darren O’Neill (Paulstown), Bernard Roe (Dublin Docklands), Conor Coyle (St Josephs, Derry), Derek Duhig (St Francis), Stephen Broadhurst (Dealgan), Michael O’Reilly (Portlaoise), Emmet Brennan (Corinthians)

Defending champion: Vacant – Jason Quigley (Finn Valley) won the title in 2013 but did not register before February the 18th deadline to compete in the 2014 Championships.


81kg -Light-heavyweight – Andrew Jennings (Cabra, Defence Forces), Matthew Tinker (St Francis), Padraig McCrory (Gleann), Joe Ward (Moate), Donal Ward (Loughglynn), Sean McGlinchey (Oakleaf)

Defending champion: Joe Ward (Moate)


91kg – Heavyweight – Patrick O’Shea (St Colmans), Gary Sweeney (Olympic), Christy Joyce (St Michaels Athy), Patrick Corcoran (Olympic), Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise), John Joe McDonagh (Crumlin), Kenneth Okungbowa (Moate), Stephen Ward (Monkstown, Antrim), Krys Sikora (St Francis)

Defending champion: Vacant – Tommy McCarthy (Oliver Plunkett) won the title in 2013 but has since turned professional


91kg+ – Super-heavyweight – Dennis Boroskins (St Brigids, Newry), Tommy Sheahan (St Michaels Athy, Defence Forces), Kostas Popovicu (Johnstown), Michael McDonagh (Brosna), Niall Kennedy (Gorey), Joe Joyce (Moate), Mark Clarke (St Marys, Dublin), Con Sheehan (Clonmel), Dean Gardiner (Clonmel), Jason Barron (Holy Trinity).

Defending champion: Vacant – Sean Turner (Drimnagh)  won the title in 2013 but has since turned professional




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here