Irish Paracycling Squad named

The squad for the 2012 UCI Paracycling World Track Championships (Los Angeles, 9 – 12 February) has been announced by Cycling Ireland.


2011 UCI World Road champion, Colin Lynch will compete in the C2 1km Time Trial, 3km Individual Pursuit and Team Sprint competition. Cathal Miller is selected for the C5 1km Time Trial, 4km Individual Pursuit and Team Sprint. Enda Smyth will appear in the C3 1km Time Trial, 3km Individual Pursuit and take up the third position for the Team Sprint.


2011 UCI World Track bronze medalists, Catherine Walsh and Francine Meehan will be hoping to get back on the podium for the 1km Time Trial and 3km Individual Pursuit.

The will be joined by Katie-George Dunlevy and pilot Sandra Fitzgerald in both the 1km Time Trial and 3km Individual Pursuit competitions. They have shown good form during recent track training camps and fully deserve selection for their first competitive outing.

Two male tandems will also represent Ireland in LA. James Brown and Andrew Fitzgerald will be piloted respectively by Damien Shaw and Con Collis. Both tandems will compete in the 1km Time Trial and 4km Individual Pursuit events.


Irish Paracycling Manager Denis Toomey is optimistic for further World Championship medal success for Ireland: “Following two very tough 10-day camps based at the Palma Arena Velodrome in Mallorca, all the squad are certainly on target to produce personal bests in LA. As it’s the last competition where country ranking points can be accrued towards London Paralympic Games qualification, pressure will be on everyone to perform to their best and write their ticket to London.”

The team travels out on 30 January for a final training camp before competition begins on 9 February.

SportsNewsIreland will be bringing you news from the Los Angeles event in February


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here