Corofin seal 7-in-a-row after Galway county final replay win over Tuam Stars.

Corofin sealed a 7th Galway Senior football title in a row at Tuam Stadium with a 0-11 v 0-8 win over Tuam Stars.

Corofin 0-11 Tuam Stars 0-8

Galway Senior Football Championship 2019
Sunday 3rd November 2019. Tuam Stadium

Reigning All-Ireland Club Champions Corofin claimed their 7th consecutive Galway Senior Football title in Tuam Stadium with a 0-11 v 0-8 win over Tuam Stars in the replay of the County final at Tuam Stadium.

It’s Corofin’s 9th title in 10 years. It’s also an incredible 14th county medal for club stalwart Kieran Fitzgerald. The former All-Ireland and All-Star winner with Galway in 2001 picked up his first county senior football medal in 1998.

The feeling locally was that Tuam had missed their chance to dethrone the current All-Ireland champions in the drawn game two weeks ago. Tuam Stars had led by 2-08 v 0-12 with the three minutes of injury time almost up. Two very late frees from Gary Sice rescued Corofin as they salvaged a draw.

Despite an expectation that they would be overpowered in the replay, Tuam Stars started strongly. Indeed they were the more clinical side during the first half. Tuam held a slender 0-5 v 0-4 lead at the break after. Their points came from Jamie Murphy (0-2), Brian Mannion (0-2) and Gary O’Donnell. Kevin O’Brien’s Corofin side had eleven efforts at goal during the first half, but four points from Jason Leonard (0-2), Gary Sice and Michael Farragher were all that Corofin had to show for their efforts.

All 9 points came in the opening 17 minutes of the first half. As the weather deteriorated slippery conditions made scoring chances hard to come by. At the break, Tuam held the narrowest of leads. Tuam Stars 0-5 Corofin 0-4

After the break Jamie Murphy added to his tally before Martin Farragher replied for Corofin. Dylan McHugh rattled the Tuam crossbar, Jason Leonard reacted quickest to tap over and level the game as Corofin began to get on top.

A fine Ben O’Connor score edged Tommy Carton’s Tuam ahead again. But Corofin showed all their big-game experience as they took over and fired off five unanswered points. Gary Sice hit two, Ronan Steed fired over from distance and Martin Farragher and Kieran Molloy stretched the Corofin lead. A Daragh O’Rourke point in injury time was Tuam’s only score in the last twenty minutes of the game as Corofin advance to face Mayo champions Ballintubber next weekend.

Ballintubber defeated Leitrim champions Gelncar-Manorhamilton 1-11 v 0-9 at MacHale Park, Castlebar. Elsewhere in the Connacht club championship Roscommon’s Padraig Pearses advance to the Connacht semi-final in London after a convincing 3-17 v 0-06 over Sligo champs Tourlestrane at Markievicz Park.

Full Connacht Club Championship draw.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.