Leinster Club SFC: Ballyboden beat Garrycastle

Ballyboden 3-14 Garrycastle 0-12

Ballyboden beat Garrycastle 3-14 to 0-12 in Mullingar on Sunday in the Leinster Club SFC. The win will now see Ballyboden play Eire Og of Carlow in the final.

Firstly it was Garrycastle who made a bright start with the evergreen Dessie Dolan who is now 40 years of age opening the scoring after 2 minutes. However, it was was the next 10 minutes that virtually decided this game. The Dublin champions, Ballyboden, registered 1-05 without reply. The goal came courtesy of Robbie McDaid who drove the team forward all afternoon. The goal came after 6 minutes. Colm Basquel scored three points, two from frees, while Alan Flood and Ross McGarry also got points in a devastating 10 minutes.

In fairness, the Dublin based outfit were much the stronger side and won 95% of the battles on the field. Indeed, they probably should have scored another couple of goals only for some good defending. It was Ryan Basquel then who registered three points from play for Anthony Rainbow’s charges.However, Garrycastle did have a response when Dessie Dolan kicked a sumptuous score from play to close the scoring. Nevertheless, it was Ballyboden who led by 8 points at the break, 1-10 to 0-05.

Garrycastle came out all guns blazing on the resumption. Something was obviously said in the dressing room by manager Gary Dolan. They kicked three quick scores without reply, their talisman Dessie Dolan kicking all three. With 10 minutes the gap was 1-13 to 1-10. However, it looked as though Ballyboden were going to beat Garrycastle when they brought on Conal Keaney and Michael Dara McAuley. Colm Basquel scored a goal on 54 minutes which all but ended the tie. In addition to this and three minutes later James Holland rattled a goal in.

Anthony Rainbow’s charges will now face Carlow side Eire Og in the final. I think that game will be a good game also.

Ballyboden St Enda’s: D Gogan; B Dwan, S Clayton, K Kennedy; S Gibbons, R McDaid (1-01), D McCabe; B Bobbett, D O’Mahony; D O’Reilly (0-01), C Basquel (0-03, 0-2f), A Flood (0-02); R McGarry (0-03), R Basquel (1-03), W Egan. Subs: MD Macauley for McCabe (43), C Keaney (0-01, 0-01f) for Flood (45), T Hayes for Egan (50), J Holland (1-00) for O’Mahony (55), C Murray for R Basquel (57), C O’Reilly for McGarry (60).

Garrycastle: S Brennan; M Guiheen, J Donohue, M McCallon; D Harte, J Gaffey, G McCallon; J Barrett, J Dolan (0-01); A Monaghan, E Monaghan (0-01), M Monaghan; J Sheerin (0-01), A Gardiner, D Dolan (0-07, 0-06f). Subs: J Nugent (0-01) for E Monaghan (half-time), C Cosgrove for D Dolan (50), M Greene for A Monaghan (50), E Mulvihill for Donohue (inj., 55), G Heneghan (0-01, 0-01f) for M Monaghan (57).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.