Starting Team News for Wales v Ireland – Kick off 2:30pm Saturday

Joe Schmidt has made eleven changes from the side that suffered a 57-15 drubbing at the hands of England in Twickenham last Saturday. Only Iain Henderson, Peter O’Mahony, Bundee Aki and Jacob Stocdale are retained.

Jack Carty has been handed the no.10 jersey and is partnered by Connacht teammate Kieran Marmion in the half-back pairing. Interestingly, there is no back up out-half named on the bench. Ross Byrne, Johnny Sexton and Joey Carbery are Schmidt’s other options at no.10, but with the latter two injured the omission of Byrne would suggest that Joe Schmidt has already made up his mind and Carty will make the 31 man Irish squad for Japan ahead of the Leinster man.

The front row is an all Munster affair with the trio of Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and John Ryan packing down together. James Ryan is set for his first run out of the summer and will bolster the second row  alongside Ulsterman Iain Henderson, as the spotlight will surely be on the lineout after serious failing in this department against the English. Tadhg Beirne comes into the back row at no.6, while captain Peter O’Mahoney moves across to the no.7 slot. Jack Conan gets the nod for the number 8 jersey. 

In the backs Bundee Aki is retained and Chris Farrell partners his in the centre, while Jacob Stockdale will be looking for an improved performance on the wing. Andrew Conway gets a chance to impress on the other flank and Ulster’s Will Addison has recovered from back surgery in April in time to show what he can offer. 

Schmidt’s side will be looking for a badly needed win to boost morale after a confidence sapping defeat in Twickenham. Expect a big response from Ireland against and understrength Welsh side. 

As hinted earlier this week, Welsh coach Warren Gatland has made wholesale changes to the Welsh side that defeated the English 13-6 in Cardiff two weeks ago. Only Jamie Davies retains his starting place from that victory as Gatland looks to give fringe players some game time before the final 31 man squad announcement on Sunday.

The game will be broadcast live on Channel 4.


  1. Dave Kilcoyne
  2. Niall Scanell
  3. John Ryan
  4. Iain Henderson
  5. James Ryan
  6. Tadhg Beirne
  7. Peter O’Mahony
  8. Jack Conan
  9. Kieran Marmion
  10. Jack Carty
  11. Jacob Stockdale
  12. Bundee Aki
  13. Chris Farrell
  14. Andrew Conway
  15. Will Addison

Replacements:Rory Best, Andrew Porter, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Jordi Murphy, Luke McGrath, Garry Ringrose, Dave Kearney.


  1. Rhys Carré
  2. Ryan Elias
  3. Samson Lee
  4. Adam Beard
  5. Bradley Davies
  6. Aaron Shingler
  7. James Davies
  8. Josh Navidi ©
  9. Aled Davies
  10. Jarrod Evans
  11. Staff Evans
  12. Owen Watkin
  13. Scott Williams
  14. Owen Lane
  15. Hallam Amos

Replacments: Elliot Dee, Rob Evans, Leon Brown, Ross Moriarty, Tomos Williams, Rhys Patchell, Jonah Holmes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.