Tipperary crowned U20 Hurling Champions with 5-17 to 1-18 win over Cork

Tipperary 5-17 Cork 1-18 

Tipperary were crowned inaugural All-Ireland U20 Hurling Champions on Saturday to cap off a splendid week for the Premier. They came out on top in a six-goal encounter at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. It was the opening 10 minutes where this game was won and lost, Tipperary netting four goals.

Billy Seymour netted the Premier’s first goal inside a minute, but Cork responded with three points in a row from Brian Turnbull, Conor O’Callaghan and Daire Connery. The sides now level after 4 minutes. Seymour edged Tipperary back in front before senior All-Ireland winner burst through space before finding Ormond who finished past Ger Collins. Things got worse before they got better for Denis Ring’s men. Seymour raised another green flag, this time it was an effort through a couple of Cork players, it found the way to the net. Tipperary continued to pile on the pressure on the Rebels, the pressure told once again when Cahill made it 4-01 to 0-04 when he got in behind the Cork defence to give Collins no chance again.

Tommy O’Connell pointed a 65 for Cork, but Tipperary were on a roll with Jake Morris (2) and Seymour pointing to extend the Tipperary lead. Brian Turnbull hit two points over to cancel out white flags from Conor Bowe and Jake Morris. Ormond then pointed to extend the Tipperary advantage. As the half was coming to an end Connery and Cahill traded scores. Tipperary led at the break 4-09 to 0-12.

Denis Ring introduced Evan Sheehan in the second half, but his Cork his side hit three quick wides in succession. However, the man of the match Seymour got the opening score of the half, but Turnbull responded with two frees. Jake Morris knocked over two in a row then for Tipperary as they began to take control yet again. O’Connell would get Cork’s only goal of the game as he dodged past two Tipperary defenders before unleashing an unstoppable shot to the top corner to narrow the gap to 10 points, 4-14 to 1-13.

Cork should have had another goal on 53 minutes with Evan Sheehan raiding through but Aaron Browne produced a fine save to knock the ball out for a 65. The resulting 65 was then put over the bar by O’Connell. Seymour scored a sublime sideline to cap off a fine performance before the gloss was put on the win when Bourke riffled in a 5th goal to finish the game off in injury time.

Tipperary: Aaron Browne; Conor McCarthy, Eoghan Connolly, Craig Morgan; Niall Heffernan, Paddy Cadell, Bryan O’Mara; Ciaran Connolly, Jerome Cahill  (1-1); Gearoid O’Connor, Jake Morris (0-8, 3f, 1 ‘65’), Johnny Ryan; Andrew Ormond (1-2), Billy Seymour (2-5, 1 sideline), Conor Bowe (0-1). Subs: Sean Hayes for G O’Connor (36mins), Kian O’Kelly for A Ormond (49), Joe Fogarty for C Bowe (53), Cathal Bourke (1-0) for J Ryan (58), Michael Purcell for C Connolly (63)

Cork: Ger Collins; Conor O’Callaghan (0-1), James Keating, Eoin Roche; Ger Millerick, Sean O’Leary Hayes, Robert Downey (0-1); Ryan Walsh (0-2), Tommy O’Connell (1-2, 2 ‘65s); Sean Twomey, Brian Roche (0-1), Daire Connery (0-2, 1f); Brian Turnbull (0-8, 7f), Shane O’Regan (0-1), Padraig Power. Subs: Evan Sheehan for Simon Kenefick (HT), Jamie Copps for J Keating (40mins), Barry Murphy for D Connery (41), Padraig Power for Ryan Walsh (54).

Ref: Liam Gordon (Galway)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.