Munster minor hurling previews & live score updates

Defending Munster Minor Hurling Champions Clare named a strong side for the opening round against Waterford in Cusack Park on Wednesday evening.


Shane O’Brien ( Clonlara) will captain the side from corner back, Shane O’Brien, Eibhear Quilligan, and Shane O’Donnell played in last years All Ireland Semi Final against Galway, Clare are going for their eigth consecutive victory in this Munster Minor Hurling Championship, and also bidding for the county’s first ever three in a row.

Clare (MH -v- Waterford): 1 Eibhear Quilligan;  2 Shane O’Brien (Capt.), 3 Brian Carey, 4 Geariod Ryan; 5 Aidan McGuane, 6 Conor Cleary, 7 Eoin Quirke; 8 David Conroy, 9 Alex Morey;  10 Brian Corry,  11 Shane Liddy, 12 Shane Taylor; 13 Shane O’Donnell, 14 Conor Deasy, 15 Bobby Duggan.

Waterford (MH v Clare): 1. Sean Barry (Capt.); 2. Kieran Bennett Ballysaggart, 3. Tadgh Bourke, 4. Shane Bennett; 5. Kieran Power, 6. Shane McNulty, 7. Tom Devine; 8. Connor Sheahan, 9. Cian Leamy Ballyduff; 10. Darren Foran Portlaw, 11. Michéal Harney, 12. Adam O’Sullivan De La Salle; 13. Stephen Bennett, 14. Darragh Flynn, 15. Cathal Curran.

Tipperary have won one of their last 6 matches played in the Munster Minor Hurling Championship, a 2-16 to 1-9 victory over Cork at Semple Stadium in the 2011 Semi-Final 2nd Playoff.  They will be confident of beating Kerry at Semple Stadium on 2nd May however.

The Tipperary minor hurling team to play Kerry in the Munster Minor Hurling Championship on Wednesday evening at 7pm at Semple Stadium is:

Tipperary (MH v Kerry): 1. Paul Maher; 2. Luke Mullaly, 3. Michael Breen, 4. Jack Peters; 5. Ronan Maher, 6. Thomas Hamill, 7. Tom Kirwan; 8. Bill Maher (Capt.), 9. Sean Nally; 10. Dylan Fitzelle, 11. Jack Shelly, 12. Stephan Cahill; 13. Mark McCarthy, 14. John McGrath, 15. Kevin Slattery.

Last year Kerry lost to Clare in the first round before bowing out to Cork by 0-25 to 2-6 in the semi-final 1st playoff at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Kerry (MH v Tipperary): 1. Jason Wallice; 2. Fionan Horgan, 3. Kevin Skinner, 4. Keith Carmody; 5. Tom MCelligott, 6. Dougie Fitzell, 7. Tommy Casey; 8. Daniel Collins, 9. Brendan O Leary; 10. Michael O Leary, 11. Thomas Casey, 12. Kieran Fitzgerald; 13. Paul McGrath, 14. Ricky Heffernan, 15. Cian Hussey

Cork meanwhile host Limerick at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, also with a 7pm throw-in.

Cork have named their starting XV as follows:

1. Patrick Collins; 2. Stephen Murphy (Capt.), 3. Killian O’Connor, 4. Alan Dennehy; 5. Killian McIntyre, 6. Michael Cahalane, 7. Paul Fitzgerald; 8. Conor Twomey, 9. Barry O’Connell; 10. John Cashman, 11. Dillon Cahill, 12. Kevin O’Neill; 13. Aaron Sheehan, 14. Richard Cahalane, 15. Pa O’Callaghan.

Cork will be lookin for revenge having lost in last year’s first round to the Treaty Men.

Limerick having beaten Cork in last year’s first round, lost to Waterford in an extra-time thriller at Walsh Park.

Limerick will name their starting XV shortly before throw-in.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.