Leinster SFC Meath v Wicklow preview

Meath will put a difficult few months behind them when they open their Leinster Football Championship against Wicklow in Dr Cullen Park on Sunday, throw in 3.30pm.

A division two league campaign that resulted in relegation and saw defeats to Kildare, Galway, Derry, Tyrone and Louth, culminated in the botched attempts to remove Seamus McEnaney as manager and confidence will be low in the Royal County as a result.

Wicklow meanwhile will be on a high are claiming the Division four crown with an 8 point win over Fermanagh in the final and with both sides in Division three for next season the clash today will have some added intrigue.

The neutral venue of Carlow will suit Wicklow and with Seanie Furlong and Tony Hannon is such good form the Garden County will fancy their chances of an upset.

Meath – D Gallagher, M Burke, K Reilly, S McAnarney, D Tobin, B Menton, S Kenny, C Gillespie, B Meade, A Forde, M Collins, G Reilly, B Farrell, J Sheridan, C Ward.

Wicklow – John Flynn, Ciaran Hyland, Anthony McLoughlin, Alan Byrne, Dean Healy, Michael McLoughlin, Stephen Kelly, James Stafford, Rory Finn, Leighton Glynn, Daragh O’Sullivan, Darren Hayden, Tony Hannon, Seanie Furlong, John McGrath.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.