Cork beat Waterford to reach All-Ireland hurling semi-final

Cork beat Waterford to reach All-Ireland hurling semi-final on the 12th of August, against Galway

The rebels started well and they raced into an early lead with Pat Horgan and Jamie Coughlan to the fore up front. Coughlan’s 16th minute goal had put Cork into a strong position, but Waterford responded and their talisman John Mullane came out the field and had a huge impact on the game, setting up a number of scores.

Despite having less of the overall play Michael Ryan’s side only trailed by one point at the interval. The scoreboard read Cork 1-09 – Waterford 0-11.

For long periods of the second half Waterford dominated the play and with fourteen minutes to go they had forged a three point lead. Substitute Eoin McGrath had a great goal chance, however he fumbled the ball and a huge opportunity was squandered. It was a huge turning point.

Jimmy Barry Murphy’s charges took advantage of this huge let off and suddenly the quality of their bench was beginning to tell. Darren Sweetnam set up several attacks and livewire Cathal Naughton landed two trademark scores to edge his side in front.

The ageless Ó hAilpín and team captain Pat Horgan landed late points to leave three between the sides. Waterford tried desperately to find a goal that would force a replay but the Cork defence stood firm.

Waterford will feel this was a game they let slip but once again the lack of class up front (bar Mullane) was the big issue. The Cork bench was key in the end and the quality players introduced in the last quarter swung the game in their favour. However huge improvement will be required if they are to trouble Galway in the semi-final.

Cork: A Nash; S O’Neill, S McDonnell, B Murphy; T Kenny, E Cadogan, S Ó hAilpín (0-01), D Kearney, P Cronin (0-02), J Coughlan (1-01), C McCarthy (0-03), N McCarthy, P O’Sullivan (0-02), L O’Farrell (0-01), P Horgan (0-07, 4f).

Subs: D Sweetnam for D Kearney, C Naughton (0-2) for N McCarthy, J Gardiner for E Cadogan, S Moylan for Coughlan, L McLoughlin for C McCarthy.

Waterford: S O’Keeffe, S Daniels, L Lawlor, N Connors, T Browne (0-1, 1f), M Walsh, K Moran, S Molumphy (0-1), Philip Mahony; Pauric Mahony (0-3), S Prendergast (0-1), M Shanahan (0-9, 0-5 frees, 2 65s); J Mullane (0-2), S Walsh (0-2), T Ryan.

Subs: E McGrath for T Ryan, S Casey for S Walsh, R Foley for T Browne.

Live Commentary
3:30pm John Mullane should have got a twenty one yard free but a 65′ is given.
3:30pm Patrick Horgan puts Cork three ahead with one minute to play.
3:30pm We have two minutes injury time to play
3:29pm One of the worst wides of the year by Shane Casey for Waterford.
3:28pm Sean Og hits a point from half way for Cork.
3:27pm What a score from Maurice Shanahan, Waterford are one behind.
3:26pm Patrick Horgan hits two quick scores, great comeback by Cork.
3:25pm Eoin McGrath has been very poor since he came on for Waterford.
3:24pm Luke O’Farrell levels it up.
3:24pm Patrick Horgan with a really nice point from halfway, only one in it.
3:22pm Pa Cronin hits a wide, Cork are very lucky to be only points behind.
3:21pm Eoin McGrath should of been in for a goal, but he drops the ball.
3:18pm Cork sub Cathal Naughton hits a great point.
3:17pm Poor wide by John Mullane, he really should of done better.
3:17pm Looked to be a point for Cork but its waved wide.
3:17pm Shane walsh has to go off the Waterford team injured
3:15pm John Mullane hits a stunning point from play for Waterford.
3:12pm Mauriice Shanahan puts Waterford two points ahead with fifteen minutes to play.
3:11pm Pauric Mahony with his third point for Waterford.
3:08pm In a surprise move John Gardiner is onto the Cork team, its the first match of the year for the Na Piarsaigh who is only 29 years old.
3:07pm Shane Walsh collects the ball on half way and hits over a point.
3:06pm Maurice Shanahan hits his seventh point of the day.
3:05pm Eoin McGrath has come onto the Waterford team and wins a 65′
3:04pm Pa Horgan with another point for Cork, he is having a great match.
3:03pm Maurice Shanahan hits over a free to level it up.
3:01pm Waterford a defending a lot better today than in the Munster final. They look favourites to win at the moment.
3:00pm Shane Walsh gets a great point from play for Waterford.
2:58pm Cian McCarthy hits a point for Cork, it looked wide.
2:56pm The second half is underway.
2:38pm Pa Horgan gives Cork the lead on the stroke of half time.
2:36pm Cian McCarthy with a great score for Cork, that is his second of the day.
2:35pm Its Maurice Shanahan again, this time with a free. Waterford lead for the first time
2:33pm Stephen Molumphy levels it up for the Deise
2:32pm Maurice Shanahan gets Waterford to within a point of Cork.
2:30pm Really nice scores by Pauric Mahony & Seamus Prendergast for Waterford.
2:29pm Pa Cronin gets his second point of the day for Cork.
2:25pm Paudie O’Sullivan and Maurice Shanhan trade points from play.
2:25pm Great point from the half way line by Tony Browne from a free for Waterford.
2:22pm Maurice Shanahan hits over a free, their first score in nearly twenty minutes.
2:21pm Its been such a poor start for Waterford considering they have the breeze.
2:18pm Jamie Coughlan who came in late for Conor Lehane gets a GOAL for Cork.
2:17pm Maurice Shanahan hits a free wide, he looks very nervous taking them
2:15pm Cork now lead by three points, Waterford have not gotten into the match yet.
2:13pm Pa Cronin doubles the Cork lead.
2:11pm Patrick Horgan looked to be in on goal, but it was well blocked by Brick Walsh.
2:09pm McCarthy gives Cork the lead.
2:07pm Maurice Shanahan hits over a free to give Waterford the lead.
2:06pm The middle of the field is very congested, which is leading to not many scoring chances.
2:03pm John Mullane levels it up for Waterford.
2:03pm Horgan opens the scoring for Cork
2:02pm First wide for Waterford by Prendergast
2:00pm Waterford have the breeze in the first half.
Cork – Anthony Nash, Shane O Neill, Stephen Mc Donnell, Brian Murphy, Tom Kenny, Eoin Cadogan, Sean Óg O hAilpin Daniel Kearney, Pa Cronin, Conor Lehane, Cian McCarthy, Niall McCarthy, Paudie O’Sullivan, Luke O’Farrell, Patrick Horgan.

Waterford – S O’Keeffe; N Connors, L Lawlor, S Daniels; T Browne, M Walsh, K Moran; S Molumphy, Phil Mahony; Pauric Mahony, S. Prendergast, M. Shanahan; J. Mullane, S. Walsh, T Ryan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.