Galway see off Cork to make final

Galway to the final in September, great performance from the Tribesmen and a master class by Joe Canning.

Galway qualified for their first All-Ireland final in seven years with a hard earned victory over Cork in Croke Park.

Joe Canning gave an exhibition of forward play but his side were pushed all the way by Jimmy Barry Murphy’s men.

The rebels started brightly with Patrick Horgan and Paidi O’ Sullivan prominent up front. But Galway responded well and registered some fine scores from the aforementioned Canning, David Burke and James Regan. The teams were all square at the interval, eleven points apiece.

Galway increased their intensity levels in the second period but they were unable to get the goal that would have put some real daylight between the sides. Jimmy Barry Murphy introduced his impact subs early in an attempt to gain some momentum but they were unable to draw level.

As the game wore on the Galway defence started to dominate, Fergal Moore, Jonny Coen and Niall Donohue drove their team forward at every opportunity and with twenty minutes remaining they had established a three point lead that they would ultimately never relinquish.

The Portumna trio of Damien Hayes, Andy Smith and Joe Canning registered late scores and Galway ran out deserving five point winners.

Galway will be relieved to get through this tricky game and they will fancy their chances in the final whoever they face. Cork can be proud of their performance and their season overall. Their future appears to be bright.

Galway Scorers: D Hayes 0-4, D Burke 0-2, J Regan 0-2, J Canning 0-11 (0-5f, 0-2 65), A Smith 0-1, N Burke 0-2.

Fergal Moore had an outstanding performance and wins the man of the match for Galway v Cork All-Ireland semi-final.

Galway: J Skehill; D Collins, K Hynes, F Moore; N Donoghue, T Óg Regan, J Coen; I Tannian, A Smith; D Burke, N Burke, J Regan; C Cooney, J Canning, D Hayes
Cork: A Nash; S O’Neill, S McDonnell, B Murphy; T Kenny, E Cadogan, S Óg Ó hAilpín; P Cronin, L McLoughlin; C Lehane, C McCarthy, J Coughlan; P O’Sullivan, L O’Farrell, P Horgan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.