17 Counties in Ireland squad for Shinty International

Hurlers from 17 different counties will represent Ireland squad for the annual Hurling Shinty International clash. The Irish squad have home advantage this year with the games taking place at the National Games Development Centre in Abbottstown on Saturday, November 2nd. The Senior match will take place at 2pm.

Tipperary’s Willlie Maher and Kilkenny’s Conor Phelan will be taking the reins of the Irish team again, hoping to bounce back from their narrow two point loss to the Scottish contingent last year.

The squad will be captained by Donegal’s Champion 15 Team nominee, Danny Cullen, following his participation for the county in the Christy Ring Cup this year. Fellow 2018 squad member, Tyrone’s Damien Casey, also made the cut for the second year in a row.

Willie Dunphy of Laois and Joey Boyle of Westmeath are also part of the team, both after fiery campaigns throughout the Joe McDonagh Competition. 

International matches between Hurling and Shinty teams have taken place since 1896, Scotland being the more victorious team for the majority of the games.

An U21 Hurling Shinty International will also take place at 12pm, with Kerry’s hitman Shane Conway at the helm.   The team squads are listed below.


First Name Surname County
1 Brian Tracey Carlow
2 Mikey Boyle Kerry
3 Joey Boyle Westmeath
4 Damian Casey Tyrone
5 Danny Cullen Donegal
6 Mark Delaney Kildare
7 Paul Divilly Kildare
8 Michael Doyle Carlow
9 Willie Dunphy Laois
10 Cillian Egan Roscommon
11 Alan Grant Derry
12 Damien Healy Meath
13 Cillian Kiely Offaly
14 Shane McGovern Westmeath
15 Ryan Mullaney Laois
16 Shane Nolan Kerry
17 Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch Sligo
18 Keith Raymond Sligo
19 Caolan  Taggart Down
20 Seán Whelan Carlow



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.