2012 Shinty-hurling Series preview and facts

The 2012 Hurling/Shinty International Series involving Ireland and Scotland takes place again this year at Senior and U21 level.

Shinty-hurling is one of the few team sports played without dedicated clubs or leagues.

The first match was in 1896 between the Scottish and GAA clubs in London.

Camanachd Association who are in charge of shinty stopped the composite rules matches around the time of the Second World War as the British Government disapproved of their involvement with the GAA, but university students kept the game alive and international matches resumed in the 1970s.

In April of this year Irish Defense Forces and British Army teams played in aid of veterans charity Poppy Scotland.

The team is managed by Kilkenny’s Michael Walsh and Wexford’s John Meyler, father of Irish international and Sunderland player David.

Ireland Senior Squad Management Team

The Ireland senior squad this year will be managed by Kilkenny’s Michael Walsh and Wexford’s John Meyler. They take over from Joe Dooley from Offaly who was assisted last year by Carlow’s Kevin Ryan and Down’s Jim McKernan.

Michael Walsh and John Meyler managed the Ireland U21 side in 2011.

Michael Walsh played in goal for Kilkenny until he retired in 1996. During that time he won two All-Ireland winners’ medals, three Leinster winners’ medals, one National league winners’ medal and was given two All-Star Awards.

He was Carlow Senior Hurling manager between 2001 and 2004 and he’s the son of Ollie Walsh, who is regarded as one of the top hurling keepers of all time.

John Meyler managed the Kerry Senior Hurling team between 1992 and 1997. He had a period as a Cork selector and later took over at Wexford between 2006 and 2008 before returning to Kerry from 2009 to 2012. He was this year appointed Carlow Senior Hurling manager. He reached an All-Ireland semi-final with Wexford in 2006.

He has also previously been involved in the international scene when he was an Ireland U21 selector for the 2010 international against Scotland.

As a player, he won an All-Ireland medal with Cork in 1986 when he was a substitute in the final against Galway. He retired from inter-county hurling a year later.

This year, the Senior Series is played on a home and away basis and the opening game is due to take place in Bught Park, Inverness on Saturday, October 20.

The second leg takes place in Ennis on October 27 and this will be preceded by the U21 game which is due to be played on Friday, October 19 at 7pm under lights in St.Joseph’s Doora Barefield, Ennis.

Scotland and Ireland will also promote a Youth Exchange Programme and will organise Music and Cultural Workshops over both weekends.

In addition, the President of Ireland – Michael D. Higgins will officiate at the opening of Fr. McNamara Park, now Camogie HQ for Clare, based in Ennis – and the Clare Camogie Team will play their Scottish counterparts in a Camogie/Shinty International on Saturday October 27 at 11am.

The Irish Hurling/Shinty Senior Team is managed by John Meyler (Cork) and Michael Walsh (Kilkenny) with Gregory O’Kane (Antrim) and Jeffrey Lynskey (Galway) looking after the U21 team.

Teams are selected on the basis of two trial games and every effort is made to provide representation to the developing counties while also providing these players with the opportunity to play alongside a small group of players drawn from Tier 1 counties.

Both Senior Games will be transmitted live by TG4 at the following times;

October 20 – 1.15pm

October 27 – 2.05pm

For further information visit www.hurlingshinty.gaa.ie


Bernard Rochford (Kerry)

Joseph Clarke (Westmeath)

Ciarán Clifford (Armagh)

Steven Clynch (Meath)

Shane Dooley (Offaly)

Cormac Donnelly (Antrim)

Shane Fennell (Louth)

Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Neil McManus (Antrim)

Barry McFall (Antrim)

Tom Murnane (Kerry)

Brendan Murtagh (Westmeath)

Darragh O’Connell (Kerry)

Shane O’Neill (Cork)

Eoin Price (captain, Westmeath)

Paudie Reidy (Kildare)

Des Shaw (Carlow)

Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)


Ronan McAteer (Monaghan)

Conor Corvan (Armagh)

Kevin Downes (Limerick)

Patrick Flynn (Laois)

Tony Kelly (Clare)

Niall Kilroy (Roscommon)

James King (Armagh)

Seadna Morey (Clare)

Stephen Morris (Meath)

Conal Morgan (Antrim)

Shane Nolan (captain, Kerry)

Niall O’Brien (Westmeath)

Paul O’Grady (Mayo)

Morgan Quinn (Leitrim)

Jamie Ryan (Galway)

James Toher (Meath)

Nathan Unwin (Laois)

Ollie Walsh (Kilkenny)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.