2015 Munster Football Championship Plunged into Crisis

It may be two years away, but the 2015 Munster Football Championship is already under threat following a seeding row.

Waterford, Clare, Tipperary and Limerick have all threatened to boycott the 2015 Championship following the decision to seed Kerry and Cork for the 2014 Championship.

Kerry and Cork are set to be seeded at the semi-final stage and will be placed on opposite sides of the draw, a decision which the other county’s and their players feel puts them at a severe disadvantage.

In addition to their threat to withdraw from the 2015 Munster Championship, the four counties are considering making themselves unavailable for the Railway Cup and the McGrath Cup.

A statement, released through the Gaelic Players Association read: “The Waterford, Clare, Tipperary and Limerick senior football panels would like to formally express our serious disappointment at the Munster Council’s decision to seed the Munster SFC 2014 without any consultation with county squads.

“We are aggrieved that this decision, which seriously disadvantages our counties’ provincial championship prospects, was also taken without certain counties being properly mandated to vote. We also believe the decision to seed the Munster football championship affects the wider All-Ireland series in an unfair manner.
“We understand that we are now restricted by the rules for the 2014 season but we will be approaching our respective county executives in the four counties to seek assurances that the decision will be revisited next year.

“As a form of immediate protest against this decision, and respecting the views of our squad members, the four squads have asked their counties to withdraw from the 2014 McGrath Cup. Also we will be asking our players to consider not making themselves available for the 2014 Railway Cup football series. In recent years players from the four counties have helped backbone the Munster Railway Cup side.

“Players from the four squads will then convene a meeting before the National league 2014 to assess the situation going forward.

“All four squads are also united in saying that if the seeding arrangement isn’t reversed next year through the formal channels that the current panellists will not participate in the 2015 Munster championship.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.