Cork win Ladies Division One title

Cork 4-15
Laois 3-09

Valerie Mulcahy was the star of the show, scoring 1-8 as Cork won their fourth successive Bord Gáis Energy Ladies National Football League Division 1 title at Parnell Park on Saturday evening.

The Rebels proved too strong for a determined Laois side who battled all the way to the finish. In the end the Munster side just had that bit extra and ran out nine point victors. The Cork girls will now approach the championship with renewed optimism and must be one of the favourites for the competition.

Scorers for Cork: V Mulcahy 1-8 (1-5f), O Farmer 2-0, R Ní Bhuachalla 1-0, C O’Sullivan 0-3, N Cleary 0-2, G Kearney & D O’Reilly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Laois: T Lawlor 1-5 (0-4f), Martha Kirwan 1-1, A Moore 1-0, Mary Kirwan 0-2f, S Doogue 0-1.

CORK: E Harte; A.M. Walsh, Angela Walsh, D O’Reilly; B Corkery, B Stack, A Sheehan; J Murphy, Annie Walsh; N Cleary, O Farmer, G Kearney; V Mulcahy, R Ní Bhuachalla, A O’Shea.

Subs: Rena Buckley for Annie Walsh (36), G O’Flynn for Sheehan (43), C O’Sullivan for Ní Bhuachalla (49), M Kelly for Kearney (53), A Barrett for Corkery (60).

LAOIS: C Dollard; A Quigley, G Dunne, E Healy; A Taylor, L Hyland, J Moore; A Casey, T Lawlor; Mary Kirwan, A Moore, D Callinan; Martha Kirwan, S Doogue, G Weston.

Subs: M Dunne for Callinan (h.t.), M McEvoy for Martha Kirwan (44), O Farrell for Hyland (47), S Quigley for Weston (47), A Kehoe for Casey (60+3).

Referee: Eugene O’Hare (Down).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here