Leinster JFC Preview: Kilkenny v Cavan



Surprise package Kilkenny face Ulster opponents Cavan in the semi final of the Leinster Junior football championship at Nowlan Park on Wednesday evening at 7.30pm.

The Hurling loving Cats overcame highly fancied Wexford in their quarterfinal 3-5 to 0-13 thanks to a late goal from Mullinavat’s Michael Malone.

Dick Mullins side went in at half time only 4 points down thanks to a J. J. Dunphy goal and looked down and out as they were two points down with minutes to play that was before Malone’s intervention.

David Prendergast with 1-3 was top scorer for Kilkenny in the quarter final, who should be pretty much unchanged for the visit of Cavan.

Cavan meanwhile beat Longford 1-12 to 2-6 in their opening round match thanks to 1-2 from talisman Jason O’Reilly and two frees from Niall Murray. The Cavan scores were spread throughout the team with 8 of their players knocking over points in that game.

Cavan who have a number of players with from their under 21 squad will fancy their chances of going home with a victory over their hosts. The key to Cavan’s win over Longford was their fast start, with the Breffni men scoring an unanswered 1-2 in the opening minutes and despite being pegged back a couple of times they were able to put their foot on the gas when it mattered and scored 3 unanswered points at the end to seal the win.

Kilkenny doesn’t have the pedigree in junior football and have never tasted success at this level, although their junior cats will hope that they can give the home county support something to celebrate in the year that they celebrate the 100th anniversary of their last All Ireland senior football title with a Leinster final appearance.

With no Ulster Junior Championship this is the fourth year that Cavan have participated in Leinster and they will have high hopes of reaching their first final.

The winner of this game will meet either Dublin or Kildare in the final.

Kilkenny Panel to face Cavan (Team to be named):

Robert Shore, Ray O’ Keeffe, Richard O’ Hara, Bill Kehoe, J.J. O’Sullivan, Declan Grennan, Thomas Kehoe, J.J. Dunphy, Michael Duggan, Joe Fennelly, David Prendergast, Emmet Vereker, Michael Mahony, Paul Donnelly, John Cullinane, J.J. Grace, Michael Saunders, Tom Maher, David Garvey, Aidan Mackey, Ciarán Foran, Graham Lawlor, James Culliton, James Mackey, Sean Mahony, Fintan McEnroe, Peter Mc Bride, Martin Dowling, Seoirse Kenny, Paddy Raftice

Cavan team: Alan O Mara, Terry Hyland, Thomas Wakely, Óisin Minagh, Stephen Jordan, Sean Mc Cormack, Michael Brady, Niall Mc Kiernan, Enda King, Robert Maloney-Derham, Anton O Reilly, Declan Meehan,Keith Fannin, Jason O Reilly, Jack Brady

Subs: Stephen Tormey, Killian Reilly. Daniel Graham, Colm Smith, Ryan Mc Cormack, Tomas Reilly, Finbarr O Reilly, Barry Watters, Padraigh Reilly, Chris Conroy, Shane Tierney

Referee: John Hickey

Sportsnewsireland.com will have live score updates on all GAA Championship matches over the summer.

Eurobet Poker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.