Stamp returns for Wexford hurlers

Darren Stamp is fit to lead Wexford in Saturday’s All-Ireland SHC second phase qualifier against Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds, throw in at 5pm.

Stamp missed the Leinster semi-final defeat to Kilkenny with a calf muscle but has trained well in recent weeks. Stamp returns at centre-back, with Malachy Travers shifting to the left wing to cover for the injured Ciarán Kenny who has a back muscle problem.

Keith Rossiter fractured his elbow against Kilkenny but played 30 minutes of a challenge match against Waterford last weekend. He has been pencilled in again at left corner back.

Eoin Quigley, who now plays his club hurling for Cork side Sarsfields, will link up with Michael Jacob in midfield. Willie Doran (shoulder) is on the Model men’s injury list, and David Redmond also makes way.

Encouragingly, Rory Jacob has shaken off a groin injury to be named at right corner forward in an unchanged Wexford attack.
With home advantage, Limerick are odds-on favourites to progress to the third phase of the qualifiers. But Wexford manager Colm Bonnar knows his players are capable of beating the Division 2 champions.
“This will be a big test for Limerick and there will be pressure on them to deliver at home, with huge expectations among Limerick fans after their performance against Waterford,” he told the Wexford Echo.
“Had we taken our chances against Kilkenny people would be a lot more positive about our performance that day. But, regardless, we are very focused for Limerick.”I reckon this will be a very tight game, very similar to that last clash in the qualifiers two years ago (which Limerick won 1-13 to 0-14).
“We did well in the first half of that game. But we didn’t take our chances, and that meant we found it hard in the atrocious conditions in the second half.
“So we will need to be more clinical with any scoring opportunities this Saturday, and if we are we will be in with a great chance.”
WEXFORD (SHC v Limerick): Niall Breen; Paul Roche, Matthew O’Hanlon, Keith Rossiter; Lar Prendergast, Darren Stamp (capt), Malachy Travers; Eoin Quigley, Michael Jacob; PJ Nolan, Harry Kehoe, Stephen Banville; Rory Jacob, Garrett Sinnott, Jim Berry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.