Murphy named Ladies footballer of the year

The senior footballers of Cork led the way in the O’Neill’s / TG4 Ladies Gaelic Football All Star Awards as the All Ireland winners collected six All Stars, while runners up Monaghan getting four awards.

Leinster claimed the remaining five spots with Tracey Lawlor and Mary Kirwan from Leinster champions Laois, Dublin pair Elaine Kelly and Sinéad Aherne and Meath keeper Irene Munnelly making up the All star 15.

Cork star Juliet Murphy was named the inaugural Player’s Player of the Year with Leitrim’s Áine Tighe and Wicklow’s Lucy Mulhall claiming the intermediate and junior awards.

Speaking at the awards, Pat Quill, President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association, said: “We saw some of our top, most consistent players over the last decade receive further recognition of their individual talent and for some they accepted the honour for the first time in their career.

“The first Players’ Player of the Year for the three grades was also a wonderful addition to the event and a huge honour for the three girls who received the award.”

2011 O’Neills/TG4 ALL STARS TEAM
Goalkeeper: Irene Munnelly (Meath)
Right Corner Back: Gráinne McNally (Monaghan)
Full Back: Sharon Courtney (Monaghan)
Left Corner Back: Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork)
Right Half Back: Briege Corkery (Cork)
Centre Half Back: Bríd Stack (Cork)
Left Half Back: Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)
Midfield: Juliet Murphy (Cork)
Midfield: Tracey Lawlor (Laois)
Right Half Forward: Therese McNally (Monaghan)
Centre Half Forward: Elaine Kelly (Dublin)
Left Half Forward: Mary Kirwan (Laois)
Right Corner Forward: Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan)
Full Forward: Rhona Ní Bhuachalla (Cork)
Left Corner Forward: Sinéad Aherne (Dublin)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.