Tyrone claim Dr McKenna Cup

Click here for the latest All Ireland Football odds from Betfair

Tyrone beat the 14 men of Derry in Armagh on Saturday night to claim the first Ulster trophy of the 2012, the Dr McKenna Cup.

Derry made the better start of the two sides with Paddy Bradley, making his first start of the year, scored on 15 minutes to guide Derry into a 5 point lead however the turning point of the game came just three minutes later when James Conway was sent-off for a foul on Colm Cavanagh.

The sending off handed the momentum to Tyrone and they duly accepted it with Owen Mulligan’s goal levelling matters at the break, 1-05 apiece.

The second half was a more on sided affair as Mickey Harte’s side took the game to Derry with Stephen O’Neill, Mattie Donnelly and Mulligan all scoring point to put the Red Hands in control.

Conleith Gilligan managed to stem the flow of Tyrone points with an effort for Derry however Tyrone was in cruise control at this point and moved 7 points clear.

A late Cailean O’Boyle penalty made it a three point game however Tyrone held on for a 1-14 to 2-08 win and revenge for their 2011 McKenna defeat to the same opponents.

Tyrone: J Devine, A McCrory, J McMahon, PJ Quinn, C McCarron, P Harte, D Carlin, M Murphy, C Cavanagh, M Donnelly, P Hughes, M Penrose, O Mulligan, M Donnelly, S O’Neill. Subs: P McConnell, A Cassidy, C Clarke, K Coney, J Lafferty, D McCaul, N McKenna, J McMahon, S McNulty, R O’Neill, Sean O’Neill.

Derry: D Devlin, D McBride, L Morrow, R Dillon, G O’Kane, B McCallion, B McGoldrick, J Conway, J Diver, C McKaigue, M Lynch, SL McGoldrick, C O’Boyle, Paddy Bradley, C Gilligan. Subs: P Morgan, A McAlynn, M Craig, C Murray, PJ McCloskey, Patsy Bradley, K O’Neill, M Bateson, N Forrester, E Lynn, E Brown.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.