2012 M. Donnelly Interprovincials preview

Love them or hate them, but the much maligned M.Donnelly Interprovincial series is with us again. Long time now since stars such as Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard, Jim Langton, Gerry O’Malley, Frankie Stockwell and Mick O’Connell regularly graced Croke Park on St Patrick’s Day in the old Railway Cup series. Crowds in excess of 40,000 for the Finals were not unusual.

The 2012 M. Donnelly Interprovincials was launched yesterday by Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Criostóir Ó Cuana in Croke Park in the company of Football and Hurling managers and players representing all four provinces.

Click for the betting on the 2012 All Ireland Hurling Championship and claim your free bets

Joe Kernan (Ulster Football Manager), Ger O’Sullivan (Munster Football Manager), Donnie Shine (Connacht and Roscommon), and Leinster and Dublin hurlers Ryan O’Dwyer and Liam Rushe were all on hand to launch the event.

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Criostóir Ó Cuana thanked sponsor Martin Donnelly for sponsoring the event and said he was confident the 2012 Championship will match the competition of previous years.

He said: “We now have a great opportunity for our managers and players to play for their province and I would encourage as many supporters as possible to come out and support their province and witness a high standard of games from some of our leading hurlers and footballers”.

“I wish all competing teams every success and I look forward to seeing some competitive action over the course of the competition”.

Martin Donnelly said: “I am delighted to be renewing my sponsorship of the Interprovincial Series this year and I am really looking forward to what should be some entertaining games this weekend.”

The M. Donnelly Interprovincial Football Series Semi-finals will throw in on Sunday February 19 at 2pm with Leinster vs. Munster in Parnell Park, Dublin and Connacht vs. Ulster in Markievicz Park, Sligo.

The M. Donnelly Interprovincial Hurling Series Semi-finals will also start on Sunday next with Leinster vs. Munster in Nowlan Park, Kilkenny at 2pm and Connacht vs. Ulster in Duggan Park, Ballinasloe at 2pm.

Admission prices are as follows:
Adults – €10.
Students/senior citizens – €5.
16’s and Under – Free.

Cash at stiles on the day.

The following panels and teams have been released by the provinces to date.

M. Donnelly Interprovincial Leinster Hurling Panel
Gary Maguire (Dublin), Niall Cororan (Dublin), Shane Durkin (Dublin), Ryan O’ Dwyer (Dublin), Paul Ryan (Dublin), Liam Rushe (Dublin), David Herity (Kilkenny), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Noel Hickey (Kilkenny), Jackie Tyrell (Kilkenny, Capt.), Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny), Brian Hogan (Kilkenny), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Michael Rice (Kilkenny), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Willie Hyland (Laois), Rory Hanniffy (Offaly), Shane Dooley (Offaly), Joe Bergin (Offaly), Brendan Murtagh (Westmeath), Darren Stamp (Wexford), Rory Jacob (Wexford).

Manager: Joe Dooley
Selectors: John Conran and Derek Lyng

M. Donnelly Interprovincial Leinster Football Panel
Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Garry Connaughton (Westmeath), Rory O’ Carroll (Dublin), Kevin Reilly (Meath), Ger Brennan (Dublin), Kevin Nolan (Dublin), Kieran Lillis (Laois), Emmett Bolton (Kildare), Cahir Healy (Laois), Shane McAnarney (Meath), Graham Molloy (Wexford), Michael Darragh Macauley, (Dublin), Paddy Keenan (Louth), Brendan Quigley (Laois), Brendan Murphy (Carlow), Alan Brogan (Dublin), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Leighton Glynn (Wicklow), Kevin McManamon (Dublin), Sean McCormack (Longford), Michael Conway (Kildare), Joe Sheridan (Meath), Bryan Cullen (Dublin), Johnny Doyle (Kildare) Dermot Connolly (Dublin).

Manager: Seán Boylan
Selectors: Ciarán Whelan and Ciarán McManus

M. Donnelly Interprovincial Ulster Football Team
1. Brendan McVeigh (Down)
2. Brendan Donaghy (Armagh)
3. Neil Magee (Donegal)
4. Karl Lacey (Donegal)
5. Ciarán McKeever (Armagh)
6. Darren Hughes (Monaghan) Capt.
7. James Loughery (Antrim)
8. Dan Gordon (Down)
9. Rory Kavanagh (Donegal)
10. Danny Hughes (Down)
11. Mark Poland (Down)
12. Peter Harte (Tyrone)
13. Martin Penrose (Tyrone)
14. Benny Coulter (Down)
15. Owen Mulligan (Tyrone)
16. John Devine (Tyrone)
17. Joe McMahon (Tyrone)
18. Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)
19. Thomas McCann (Antrim)
20. Vincent Corey (Monaghan)
21. Owen Lennon (Monaghan)
22. Paul Finley (Monaghan)
23. Conleth Gilligan (Derry)
24. Ciarán Hughes (Monaghan)

Manager: Joe Kernan
Selector: Tony Scullion

M. Donnelly Interprovincial Munster Hurling Panel

John Conlon (Clare), Cian Dillon (Clare), Pat Donnellan (Clare); Patrick Cronin (Cork), Donal Óg Cusack (Cork), John Gardiner (Cork), Patrick Horgan (Cork); Tom Murnane (Kerry), Shane Nolan (Kerry); Tom Condon (Limerick), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Donal O’Grady (Limerick), Nicky Quaid (Limerick); Michael Cahill (Tipperary), Paul Curran (Tipperary), Eoin Kelly (Tipperary), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), Shane McGrath (Tipperary), Conor O’Mahony (Tipperary), Gearoid Ryan (Tipperary); Liam Lawlor (Waterford), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Shane O’Sullivan (Waterford), Michael Walsh (Waterford).

Manager: Liam Sheedy (Tipperary)
Selectors: Jamesie O’Connor (Clare) and Stephen Frampton (Waterford)
Coach: Eamon O’Shea (Tipperary)

M. Donnelly Interprovincial Connacht Football Team
1. Geoffrey Claffey (Roscommon)
2. Sean McDermott (Roscommon)
3. Finian Hanley (Galway)
4. Charles Harrison (Sligo)
5. Gareth Bradshaw (Galway)
6. Donal Vaughan (Mayo)
7. Wayne McKeon (Leitrim)
8. Michael Finneran (Roscommon)
9. Seamus O’Shea (Mayo)
10. Kevin McLaughlin (Mayo)
11. Donie Shine (Roscommon)
12. Alan Dillon (Mayo)
13. Conor Mortimer (Mayo)
14. Adrian Marren (Sligo)
15. Nickey Joyce (Galway)
16. Cathal McCrann (Leitrim)
17. Ross Donovan (Sligo)
18. Johnny Davey (Sligo)
19. Lee Keegan (Mayo)
20. David Keenan (Roscommon)
21. Gary Sice (Galway)
22. Seán Purcell (Roscommon)
23. Paddy Maguire (Leitrim)
24. Tom Flynn (Galway)
25. Kevin Higgins (Roscommon)
26. Mark Breheny (Sligo)
27. Brendan Egan (Sligo)
28. Paul Conroy (Galway)
29. Fintán Ó Curraoin (Galway)
30. Barry Moran (Mayo)
31. Michael Conroy (Mayo)

Manager: Fergal O’Donnell
Selectors: Sean Óg de Paor, Noel Connelly


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here