Wexford v Antrim teams & preview

Wexford and Antrim kick off their National League campaigns at Casement Park on Sunday at the earlier than anticipated time of 1.30 after the decision was taken to change the time last night.


Click for National League Hurling betting and claim your free bet

For two new managers Liam Dunne and Jerry Wallis Sunday represents a prime opportunity to get their tenures off to a good start while also picking up vital points in the promotion race.

Both managers have stressed the importance of a good start to the campaign this week and they will be hoping their teams can get a vital two points with competition in 1B fierce from the likes of Limerick and Clare.

With Antrim not participating in the Walsh Cup it remains to be seen if they will be rusty in what is Wallis first game at the helm for the Ulster side.

Model County boss Dunne has picked a number of youngsters in his first National League squad as he looks to strike the right balance in the side.

Glynn Barntown teammates John Leacy in midfield and Gary Moore at corner forward are handed their first starts against Antrim.

There is no place in the squad for former captain Diarmuid ‘Gizzy’ Lyng who returned to Ireland and recommenced training with the panel just over a week ago.

The St.Martin’s man could feature later on in the league but for now will be held back.
While Dunne has made several changers Sean McLaughlin is the only new face in the Antrim team for Sunday’s game.

McLaughlin will join team captain Michael Herron and Colm McFall in the Saffrons half forward line after impressing for club side Carey Faughs.

Six of the Ulster side that lost to Connacht in the M Donnelly inter-provincial hurling semi-final last Sunday in Ballinasloe have been named, with Kevin McGourty the only defender not to have featured for his province.

He is included alongside Aaron Graffin, Cormac Donnelly, Neal McAuley, Neil McManus and Simon McCrory in the Antrim defence


Wexford (Allianz HL v Antrim) – Éanna Martin; Bobby Kenny, Matthew O’Hanlon, Barry Kehoe; Darren Stamp, Keith Rossiter, Ciaran Kenny; Eoin Quigley, John Leacy; Richie Kehoe, Diarmuid O’Keefe, P.J. Nolan; Tomás O’Leary, Gareth Sinnott, Gary Moore.

Antrim: C O’Connell; A Graffin, C Donnelly, K McGourty; N McAuley, N McManus, S McCrory; K Stewart, B McFall; S McLaughlin, M Herron, C McFall; S McNaughton, K Sheeran, PJ O’Connell.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here