All-Ireland Preliminary Quarter-Final: Cork crush Westmeath 1-40 to 0-20 to set up Kilkenny clash

Cork 1-40 Westmeath 0-20 

Cork racked up a massive 1-40 as they hammered Westmeath by 23 points on Sunday evening in Mullingar. The win now means John Meyler’s men will face Kilkenny next weekend in a mouth-watering contest. Things went to plan according to what many people expected in this game as Cork went in at the break 0-24 to 0-09.

Alan Cadogan had Cork ahead within 15 seconds through a well-taken point. Killian Doyle levelled matters for Westmeath from a free. Alan Cadogan and Bill Cooper made it 0-03 to 0-01. Eoin Price narrowed the gap before Cork reeled off six points in a row to put daylight between the sides. It was 0-09 to 0-02 after 13 minutes. It was one-sided from then onwards with Pat Horgan coming to the fore  Shane Kingston and Darragh Fitzgibbon also knocking over three points each. Cork had a goal chance on 34 minutes but Cadogan couldn’t get a vital touch to the ball. Killian Doyle closed the scoring in the half with his third point from a free but it was 0-24 to 0-09 at the break.

John Meyler decided to take off and rest three key players, he took off Alan Cadogan, Bill Cooper and Mark Coleman. Cork were never going to be troubled though as the only goal of the game came within 6 minutes of the restart when Glen Rovers man Patrick Horgan teed up Robbie O’Flynn for a goal which he took well. Conor Lehane would go on to stretch the gap out to 20 points with a well-taken point minutes later. Eoin Price, Killian Doyle and Aonghus Clarke tried their best for the Lake County but Cork were to classy. Robbie O’Flynn firing over four second-half points to go with his goal as Cork remained virtually in second gear. Westmeath had Gary Greville sent off on a double yellow card. Westmeath should be proud of their season as they won Division 2a this year and got to the Joe McDonagh Cup Final. They will play in Division 1 in 2020.

Cork – A Nash; S McDonnell, E Cadogan, N O’Leary; C Joyce, M Ellis, M Coleman; B Cooper (0-1), T O’Mahony (0-1); C Lehane (0-4), D Fitzgibbon (0-3), S Kingston (0-5); A Cadogan (0-5), P Horgan (0-10, 5f), S Harnedy (0-5). Subs: J Coughlan (0-1) for A Cadogan, R O’Flynn (1-4) for B Cooper, D Cahalane for M Coleman, D Dalton (0-1) for S Harnedy, D Browne for M Ellis.

Westmeath – C Lynch; D Egerton, T Doyle, G Greville; L Varley, A Clarke (0-2), P Greville (0-1); S Clavin (0-1), J Gilligan; J Boyle, K Doyle (0-9, 5f), C Boyle; J Galvin (0-1), E Price (0-4), R Greville (0-1). Subs: D O’Reilly for S Clavin, D McNicholas for J Boyle, C Doyle (0-1) for C Boyle, C Shaw for A Clarke, A Craig for L Varley.

Referee – P Murphy.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.