All-Ireland Quarter-Final: Tipperary beat Laois 2-25 to 1-18 to set up semi-final with Wexford

Tipperary 2-25 Laois 1-18 

Tipperary beat Laois by 10 points to set up a semi-final with Leinster champions Wexford in two weeks time at Croke Park, where I will imagine a large crowd will be in attendance. All the credit must go to Laois here though as they were written off completely by everyone myself included. Eddie Brennan’s men put in a fine 70 minutes and could have left with their heads held high after a superb season.

It was Laois that made a superb start to the game. Mark Kavanagh and Aaron Dunphy raising white flags either side of a score from Jason Forde. Ger Browne registered a nice point, but Laois through Kavanagh made it double scores 0-04 to 0-02 after 7 minutes. Jason Forde then dispatched a penalty after he was fouled. Seamus Callanan would raise the second green flag of the day as Tipperary looked like they were going to put up a big score on Laois. However, Laois refused to give in to Tipperary and Mark Kavanagh and Aaron Dunphy brought them back into contention. Ross King scored a goal then on 34 minutes which ensured Laois went in at the break just trailing 2-11 to 1-10.

Tipperary continued to notch scores on the board on the resumption with  Jason Forde stretching the gap. Laois suffered a massive setback when Aaron Dunphy was sent off on 38 minutes following a second yellow. Jason Forde and Padraic Maher extended the lead to 2-14 to 1-10. Tipperary failed to pull away though and although they were comfortable 10 point winners they will still need to improve to beat Wexford. Jason Forde had the final say in the game with a free bringing his tally to 1-12 for the day. Michael Breen was sent off as Tipperary were reduced to 14 men.

Tipperary: B Hogan; C Barrett, J Barry, A Flynn (0-1); B Maher, P Maher (0-1), R Maher (0-2); N McGrath (0-3), G Browne (0-2); D McCormack, J O’Dwyer, N O’Meara; J Forde (1-12, 1 pen), 1 65), S Callanan (1-2), J McGrath. Subs: M Breen for Flynn (48mins), M Kehoe for O’Dwyer (54), J Cahill for Browne (57), B Heffernan (0-1) for Barry (62), J Morris for O’Meara (68)

Laois: E Rowland; L Cleere, M Whelan, J Phelan; J Kelly (0-2), R Mullaney, P Delaney; J Lennon (0-1), P Purcell (0-1); A Dunphy (0-2), M Kavanagh (0-11, 11f), E Lyons; W Dunphy (0-1), C Dwyer, R King (1-0). Subs: E Killeen for Phelan (HT), S Maher for Dwyer (44mins), C Phelan for Lyons (58), S Bergin for Dunphy (60, inj), E Gaughan for Lennon (67).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.