Ardscoil Ris win 2011 Dr Harty Cup final

Dr Harty Cup Final
Ardscoil Ris 3-19
Charleville 0-3

Ardscoil Rís were hot favourites for yesterday’s Dr Harty Cup Final and never gave those who took short odds a moments worry as they cruised to an impressive success over Charleville.

With ten of their starting team having gone agonisingly close against St Kieran’s in last year’s All-Ireland final, the school are on a mission as they attempt to make up for the disappoint of twelve months ago and were not about to fall at this hurdle. Six of the team were Limerick minors last year, while Declan Hannon and Shane Dowling were also Limerick U-21s. Jamie Shanahan from Clare, also played in last year’s All-Ireland minor final.

On the other hand, Charleville were a hugely inexperienced side who were competing in their first Harty final in 73 years. The gulf in class showed from the outset yesterday and from the early stages there was only ever going to be one winner here.

Ardscoil Ris have become known for racking up high scores in their matches to date and they added to that reputation in front of 3,120 supporters. Having averaged 2-19 in their four matches, against big-names such St Flannan’s, Thurles CBS, St Colman’s and Waterford Colleges, they managed to put 3-19 past their hapless opponents here. In truth, the result could have been much worse for Charleville had the winners not eased up before the finish.

The runnersup did everything possible to try and breach Ardscoil’s defence with off-the-ball movement, but Ardscoil just alternated Declan Hannon and Barry O’Connell as their extra man and once they settled down Ardscoil just played their own game and destroyed Charleville. They led by 1-4 to 0-1 after fifteen minutes and extended that advantage to 2-11 to 0-2 at the interval.

It was all one way traffic in the second period with Charleville only adding a single point. Ardscoil continued to rack up the scores and had the title won well before the final whistle. They now have their eyes firmly set on Kieran’s and revenge for last years final defeat.

Scorers — Ardscoil Rís: S Dowling 0-5 (4f, 1 ’65’), J Fitzgibbon 1-2, O Hickey 1-1, K O’Brien 1-0, J Shanahan 0-3 (2f), A Dempsey, J Kelleher 0-2 each, M Carmody, B O’Connor, D Hannon, M Ryan 0-1 each. Charleville CBS: P O’Callaghan 0-3 (2f).

ArdScoil Rís — PJ Hall; K Lynch, B O’Connell, D Maloney; A Dempsey, D Hannon, M Moroney; M Ryan, J Shanahan; M Carmody, S Dowling, B O’Connor; K O’Brien, O Hickey, J Fitzgibbon. Subs: C Keogh for Dowling (37), J Kelleher for Fitzgibbon (41), C Lynch for Carmody (50), F Carey for O’Connor (55).

Charleville CBS — TJ Garvey; S Butler, J Madigan, J Walsh; C Twomey, D Reidy, A Dennehy; D Sheehy, M O’Loughlin; T Rae, M Kavanagh, J Morrissey; D Copps, J O’Brien, P O’Callaghan. Subs: G Kelleher for Butler (h-t), J McCarthy for Morrissey (h-t).

Referee – F Horgan (Tipperary).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.