Big names return to Limerick hurling side

New Limerick hurling boss Donal O’Grady has included ten players who refused to play last year for the first game of the Allianz National Hurling League this weekend.

The county had a year to forget in 2010 being relegated from Division 1 of the NHL and having a poor championship.

Damien Reale, Stephen Lucey, Niall Moran and Andrew O’Shaughnessy have all been recalled for the clash with Clare.

Wayne McNamara, Seamus Hickey, David Moloney, Richie McCarthy, James Ryan and Donal O’Grady are the others back in the side.

Among the survivors of Justin McCarthy’s last championship last summer is Nicky Quaid, who played at midfield for the Shannonsiders in 2010 but will now take his place in goal.

Kevin Downes, the Ardscoil Rís star in colleges hurling starts at full forward. He will attempt to help his school side to a second successive Harty Cup title when they meet Charleville CBS at the end of the month.

Limerick (SH v Clare, NHL Division 2 Sunday): N Quaid; D Reale, S Lucey, D Moloney; W McNamara, S Hickey, D Breen; D O’Grady, P Browne; R McCarthy, J Ryan, N Moran; A O’Shaughnessy, K Downes, G Mulcahy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.