Dublin v Tyrone – Preview, team news, betting advice – Start time 4pm Sunday

Dublin v Tyrone All Ireland semi-final preview, team news and betting advice for the 4pm throw in time on Sunday.

They meet in the championship for the first time since 2011 when Dublin won an All-Ireland quarter-final by seven points. Their last competitive meeting was in this year’s Allianz League, when they finished level (Dublin 0-10 Tyrone 1-7) in Croke Park on February 11. Tyrone led by 1-7 to 0-5 in the 60th but Dublin kicked five unanswered points to level it up late in stoppage time.
Dublin 0-19 Carlow 0-7 (Leinster quarter-final)
Dublin 4-29 Westmeath 0-10 (Leinster semi-final)
Dublin 2-23 Kildare 1-17 (Leinster final)
Dublin 1-19 Monaghan 0-12 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Dublin’s Top Scorers
Dean Rock…………3-19 (0-16 frees, 0-3 ‘45s’)
Con O’Callaghan…0-18 (0-8 frees)
Paul Mannion ……..0-13
Tyrone 0-22 Derry 0-11 (Ulster quarter-final)
Tyrone 1-21 Donegal 1-12 (Ulster semi-final)
Tyrone 2-17 Down 0-15 (Ulster final)
Tyrone 3-17 Armagh 0-8 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Tyrone’s Top Scorers
Sean Cavanagh…..0-14 (0-11 frees)
Peter Harte……….. .1-8 (1-0 pen, 0-2 frees, 0-1’45’)
David Mulgrew…..2-4
This will be the eighth championship clash between the counties. Dublin have won four to Tyrone’s two while there has been one draw in the previous seven.
2011: Dublin 0-22 Tyrone 0-15 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
2010: Dublin 1-15 Tyrone 0-13 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
2008: Tyrone 3-14 Dublin 1-8 ((All-Ireland quarter-final)
2005: Tyrone 2-18 Dublin 1-14 (All-Ireland quarter-final) Replay
2005: Tyrone 1-14 Dublin 1-14 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
1995: Dublin 1-10 Tyrone 0-12 (All-Ireland final)
1984: Dublin 2-11 Tyrone 0-8 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2016: Dublin 0-22 Kerry 2-14
2015: Dublin 3-15 Mayo 1-14 (replay)
2015: Dublin 2-12 Mayo 1-15 (draw)
2014: Donegal 3-14 Dublin 0-17
2013: Dublin 3-18 Kerry 3-11
2012: Mayo 0-19 Dublin 0-16
2011: Dublin 0-8 Donegal 0-6
2010: Cork 1-15 Dublin 1-14
2007: Kerry 1-15 Dublin 0-16
2006: Mayo 1-16 Dublin 2-12
Won 5 Lost 4, Draw 1
2015: Kerry 0-18 Tyrone 1-11
2013: Mayo 1-16 Tyrone 0-13
2009: Cork 1-13 Tyrone 0-11
2008: Tyrone 0-23 Wexford 1-14
2005: Tyrone 1-13 Armagh 1-12
2003: Tyrone 0-13 Kerry 0-6
1996: Meath 2-15 Tyrone 0-12
1995: Tyrone 1-13 Galway 0-13
1989: Mayo 0-12 Tyrone 1-6
1986: Tyrone 1-12 Galway 1-9
Won 5, Lost 5
Interesting facts 
*Dublin’s only defeat under Jim Gavin in the championship (2013-2017) came against Donegal in the 2014 All-Ireland semi-final. They drew with Mayo in the 2015 semi-final and 2016 final and won both replays. It leaves Gavin’s record as follows: Played 29; Won 26, Drew 2, Lost 1.
*Mickey Harte leads Tyrone in an All-Ireland semi-final for the seventh time, having won three and lost three of the previous six.
*Tyrone are bidding to reach the All-Ireland final for the first time since 2008.
Dublin are bidding to reach the final for the fifth time in seven seasons, missing out only in 2012 and 2014.
*Big winners….Dublin won their four championship games this year (Carlow, Westmeath, Kildare, Monaghan) by an average of 15.5 points while Tyrone beat Derry, Donegal, Down and Armagh by an average of 11.5 points.
*Dublin have won four of their last five semi-finals; Tyrone have lost their last three semi-finals to Kerry in 2015, Mayo in 2013 and Cork in 2009.
Betting Advice
Expect a very tight match and Tyrone just to sneak it, so back Tyrone to win by 1-3pts at 9/2
Team News
Both teams were announced by Friday,  neither team is suffering from any major doubts so the only surprise is Diarmuid Connelly is on the bench for Dublin after his suspension.
Dublin (SF v Tyrone): Stephen Cluxton; Philly McMahon, Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Fitzsimons; Jonny Cooper, John Small, Jack McCaffrey; Brian Fenton, James McCarthy; Ciaran Kilkenny, Con O’Callaghan, Eric Lowndes; Paul Mannion, Paddy Andrews, Dean Rock.

Tyrone (All-Ireland SFC v Dublin): Niall Morgan; Aidan McCrory, Ronan McNamee, Cathal McCarron; Tiernan McCann, Padraig Hampsey, Peter Harte; Colm Cavanagh, Conall McCann; David Mulgrew, Niall Sludden, Kieran McGeary; Mark Bradley, Sean Cavanagh, Matthew Donnelly.

Subs: Michael O’Neill, Lee Brennan, Rory Brennan, Frank Burns, Michael Cassidy, Richard Donnelly, Declan McClure, Darren McCurry, Justin McMahon, Padraig McNulty, Conor Meyler, Ronan O’Neill.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.