GAA: 2012 GAA GPA All Stars Nominations

The GAA and the GPA in conjunction with sponsors Opel have named the following 45 players as nominees for 2012 GAA GPA All-Star Football Awards sponsored by Opel.

Goalkeepers: David Clarke (Mayo); Stephen Cluxton (Dublin); Paul Durcan (Donegal).
Full Backs: Eoin Cadogan (Cork); Ger Cafferkey (Mayo); Keith Higgins (Mayo); Donal Keogan (Meath); Eamon McGee (Donegal); Neil McGee (Donegal); Paddy McGrath (Donegal); Rory O’Carroll (Dublin); Michael Shields (Cork).
Half backs: Emmet Bolton (Kildare); Colm Boyle (Mayo); Adrian Flynn (Wexford); Lee Keegan (Mayo); Karl Lacey (Donegal); Frank McGlynn (Donegal); Kevin Nolan (Dublin); Michael Quinn (Longford); Anthony Thompson (Donegal).
Midfielders: Neil Gallagher (Donegal); Rory Kavanagh (Donegal); Barry Moran (Mayo); Aidan O’Shea (Mayo); Brendan Quigley (Laois); Aidan Walsh (Cork).
Half Forwards: Paul Barden (Longford); Alan Dillon (Mayo); Paul Flynn (Dublin); Paul Kerrigan (Cork); Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin); Mark McHugh (Donegal); Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo); Graham Reilly (Meath); Ciarán Sheehan (Cork).
Full forwards: Bernard Brogan (Dublin); Jamie Clarke (Armagh); Colm Cooper (Kerry); Conor Laverty (Down); Colm McFadden (Donegal); Andy Moran (Mayo); Michael Murphy (Donegal); Donncha O’Connor (Cork); Colm O’Neill (Cork).

The county by county breakdown is as follows: Donegal (12), Mayo (10), Cork (7), Dublin (6), Meath (2), Longford (2), Armagh (1), Down (1), Kildare (1), Kerry (1), Laois (1), Wexford (1).

The final team of 15 players will be selected on Wednesday, October 24.

Nominations for Footballer of the Year
Karl Lacey (Donegal)
Colm McFadden (Donegal)
Frank McGlynn (Donegal)

Nominations for Young Footballer of the Year
Donal Keogan (Meath)
Paddy McBrearty (Donegal)
Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

GAA General Sec Páraic Duffy said: “I am delighted to congratulate the 45 players named today as nominees for the GAA GPA Football All-Stars 2012 sponsored by Opel. Each one deserves his place recognising the excellent campaigns they had and the contribution they made to our action packed championship this year.
“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsors Opel, the GPA, players and the support of the media for their respective roles in the process.”

GPA Chief Executive Dessie Farrell added: “I’d like to congratulate everyone involved in this year’s outstanding football championship. Competition continues to intensify reflecting the enormous dedication of our players. We’re once again looking forward to seeing the final GAA GPA Football All-Stars team selection. I’d like to thank the selection committee and wish them luck with their deliberations and wish all the nominees the very best.”

Dave Sheeran MD Opel Ireland said: “Opel are very proud to be associated with Gaelic Games and the All Stars Awards. We are also proud to support the games at a grass roots level through our Opel Kit for Clubs programme which supports clubs across the country helping to be the stars of tomorrow, today! I’d like to congratulate all those shortlisted for an All Star in 2012 and look forward to seeing the final 15 later this month.”

William Hill Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.