GAA : Hurling’s Greatest 15 NEVER to have won an All-Ireland winners medal?

It is always controversial when an organisation selects any “best 15” be it in hurling or football,or for that matter in any sport .

The team is as follows:

1. TOMMY QUAID (Limerick / Feoghenagh, RIP): Limerick’s first-choice goalkeeper from 1976 to 1993, playing in four Munster finals and the All-Ireland final of 1980. Won Railway Cup and NHL medals and an All-Star award in 1992.

2. JOHN GALVIN (Waterford / Portlaw): His career lasted 14 years from 1972 with Waterford and he also represented Ireland in Shinty. Was the county’s first All-Star award winner in 1974 and won a second award in 1982.

3. LEONARD ENRIGHT (Limerick / Patrickswell): One of the outstanding full-backs of his generation, he was sub goalkeeper when Limerick won the 1971 NHL title. Also excelled in other sports, including athletics. All-Star awards in 1980, ’81 and ’83.

4. DESSIE DONNELLY (Antrim / Ballycastle): Selected on the Antrim team of the century. Played in the 1980 All-Ireland club final and the All-Ireland hurling final of 1989 – when he won an All-Star.

5. GER LOUGHNANE (Clare / Feakle): The inspiration behind Clare’s resurgence in the nineties and Galway manager from 2006 to ’08. He won NHL and Railway Cup medals and was twice an All-Star, in 1974 (Clare’s first) and ’77.

6. SEÁN STACK (Clare / Sixmilebridge): Widely recognised as one of the outstanding centre-backs of his generation, he won two NHL medals with Clare and played on two winning Railway Cup winning teams in 1984 and ’85. Won an All-Star award in 1981.

7. TERENCE McNAUGHTON (Antrim / Cushendall): The man affectionately known as ‘Sambo’ operated both in attack and defence over a lengthy career, lining out at corner-forward in the 1989 All-Ireland final. Won an All-Star award in 1991 and formerly joint Antrim manager.

8. MOSSY WALSH (Waterford / Ballyduff): Distinguished himself at midfield all through the eighties, especially in the Munster finals of 1982 and ’83. Was an All-Star winner in 1980 and a year later won a Railway Cup medal at wing-forward.

9. PAT CRITCHLEY (Laois / Portlaoise): A dual player who also played basketball at a high level, he was selected on the Laois hurling team of the millennium. Won an All-Ireland club football medal in 1980 and is the only Laois hurler to win an All-Star (in 1985).

10. JOHN CALLINAN (Clare / Clarecastle): Played Railway Cup with Munster and the Combined Universities and won a fourth medal in 1985. Was on Clare’s NHL winning teams of 1977 and ’78 and won All-Stars in 1979 and 1981.

11. MARTIN QUIGLEY (Wexford / Rathnure): Member of the last Wexford team to win the All-Ireland minor title (1968). In 1973, he won an NHL medal and the first of four consecutive All-Star awards. Played on four winning Leinster teams.

12. PADDY KELLY (Limerick / Kilmallock): A national hurdles champion, he earned a reputation as a speedy and stylish hurler with Limerick all through the eighties. Won an All-Star in 1984, he was on the losing Munster team in the Railway Cup final of 1986.

13. DAVID KILCOYNE (Westmeath / Ringtown): One of the ‘greats’ of Westmeath hurling. A Railway Cup and All-Ireland ‘B’ medal winner, he won the county’s only All-Star in 1988 and last year received a Leinster ‘Hall of Fame’ award.

14. P.J. CUDDY (Laois / Camross): A prolific scorer over the course of a lengthy career. Played in the 1977 All-Ireland club final and named on the Laois team of the millennium. Won a Railway Cup medal in his fourth final in 1988.

15. JIM GREENE (Waterford / Mount Sion): An All-Star winner in 1982, he won the last of eight county championship medals in 1988 in the company of his son Brian. Manager when the Déise last contested the All-Ireland minor final in 1992.


So do YOU agree with the panel’s selection and if not who has missed out that should have been chosen? SportsNewsIreland would like to hear YOUR views on the subject.


  1. Mick berminghan is definitely one that should have been included. Was the first all star for Dublin in 1971 and prior to that was selected in the rest of Ireland team which came before the all stars. He won 6 railway cup medals and a host if club championships between knacks crokes and New York.

  2. Mick berminghan is definitely one that should have been included. Was the first all star for Dublin in 1971 and prior to that was selected in the rest of Ireland team which came before the all stars. He won 6 railway cup medals and a host of club championships between kilnacud crokes and New York.

    • Liam, if it was a hurling stars of the 70’s competition, Mick Bermingham might have had a good chance of getting on it. This competition involved picking the hurling stars of the 80’s though

  3. Where’s Seamus Durack (Clare), John Conran (Wexford), Olcan McFetridge (Antrim), Eamon Cleary (Wexford), Ciaran Barr (Antrim)? Each of those players won All Stars in he 80’s. Loughnane and Quigley were finished in the 80’s


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.