GAA News: 2013 Gaelic Football All-Stars announced

Dublin lead the way in this year’s GAA GPA Football All-Stars nominations for this year’s award have been confirmed.

The Sky Blue’s successful campaign, which ended with a final win over Mayo on September 22, has been rewarded with 12 nominations and is followed by the ten recorded by Mayo.

Monaghan’s first Ulster senior title since 1988 saw them receive six nominations. Both of this year’s beaten semi-finalists, Kerry and Tyrone landed five and four nominations respectively, while Cavan were next best with three. Cork, Galway, London, Meath and Donegal received one each respectively.

All told only 12 of last year’s nominees are included on this year’s list of 45. The short list for the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year Awards were also confirmed by the selection panel.

The senior category includes Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) and Lee Keegan (Mayo) and the young player category sees Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) and Paul Mannion (Dublin) vying for the award.

The final selection will be announced live on Friday, November 8 at the All-Star banquet at Croke Park.


Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Robert Hennelly (Mayo)

Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Full backs

Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)

Ger Cafferkey (Mayo)

Keith Higgins (Mayo)

Colin Walshe (Monaghan)

Killian Clarke (Cavan)

Chris Barrett (Mayo)

Drew Wylie (Monaghan)

Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)

Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)

Half backs

Conor Gormley (Tyrone)

Colm Boyle (Mayo)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)

Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

Donal Vaughan (Mayo)

James McCarthy (Dublin)

Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Dessie Mone (Monaghan)

James Loughrey (Cork)


Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

Séamus O’Shea (Mayo)

Darren Hughes (Monaghan)

Paul Conroy (Galway)

Anthony Maher (Kerry)

Half forwards

Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Colm Cooper (Kerry)

Cian Mackey (Cavan)

Paul Flynn (Dublin)

Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

Donnacha Walsh (Kerry)

Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)

Lorcan Mulvey (London)

Full forwards

Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

James O’Donoghue (Kerry)

Martin Dunne (Cavan)

Paul Mannion (Dublin)

Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Paddy Andrews (Dublin)

Colm McFadden (Donegal)

Michael Newman (Meath)

Player of the Year Nominees

Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)



Young Player of the Year Nominees

Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Paul Mannion (Dublin)

County by county breakdown

Dublin – 12

Mayo – 10

Monaghan – 6

Kerry – 5

Tyrone – 4

Cavan – 3

Cork – 1

Galway – 1

London – 1

Meath – 1

Donegal – 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.