GAA News – Major change for first round draw of Football qualifiers

The first round of the All Ireland Football Qualifier draw will take place on Monday next. In a change to structure and layout 16 teams will be involved and in a break with tradition unlike previous years it will be an open draw system, meaning any of the 16 teams can play each other.

The system which was in place for the last four years meant that teams were divided into A and B, but GAA hierarchy have decided to opt against using this for the fifth year in a row and go with this new system for 2018. The teams that are currently in this year’s draw include Mayo, Tyrone, Cavan, Armagh, Limerick, Waterford, Wexford, Offaly, Louth and London after all those teams lost their respective first round or quarter final games in their respective provinces over the last number of weeks.

More teams will be doomed to the qualifiers this weekend and the losers from the following will be going into the pot, Dublin or Wicklow, Down or Antrim, Laois v Westmeath, Carlow v Kildare, Meath v Longford, and Derry v Donegal. All losing teams will have a massive run of games to get to the Super 8s in August from here.

The first qualifier draw as already said will take place on Monday, and it will be live at 8.30am on RTE morning Ireland. The games will be scheduled to take over the weekend on Saturday 9th/Sunday 10th of June. There promises to be some cracking games in it to be fair and we wait with anticipation for Monday morning !


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.