GAA Result: Meath down Armagh in Navan

Meath 2-13 Armagh 0-13 

Meath proved that goals win games with a 6 point win over Armagh at Pairc Tailteann in Navan on Sunday.

Meath who had a strong breeze at their backs for the opening 35 minutes raced into a 0-04 to 0-00 lead inside the opening 5 minutes. Shane McEntee, Mickey Newman from a free, James McEntee and Darragh Campion all raising white flags. Mickey Newman then got the home sides first goal of the game from the penalty spot on 20 minutes. Stephen Sheridan got Armagh’s first point just before that. Newman was once again on the scoreboard from a free, before a flurry of Royal points had them firmly in the driving seat at the break. It was points from Cillian O’Sullivan. Darragh Campion, Thomas O’Reilly and Ben Brennan from a free that gave them a commanding lead at half time, 1-09 to 0-03. Rory Grugan and Rian O’Neill the two other scorers for Armagh in a dismal first half display.

Armagh though were quickly out of the blocks on the resumption and indeed pushed on. Kieran McGeeney’s men kicked 9 out of the first ten points after the break to cut the gap to one with 13 minutes left. Rory Grugan kicked three points, Stefan Campbell kicked two, Rian O’Neill kicked three, and Ryan McShane kicked one as the Orchard men were back into contention. Meath failed to panic though and Newman steadied the nerves of the supporters with a brace of frees on the 61st and 64th minute to give them some breathing space. The game was all but sealed as a contest then when substitute Ethan Devine popped up to palm the ball to the net past Blaine Hughes, before Thomas O’Reilly kicked the final score of the game to give Andy McEntee’s men a 6 point win to send them to the top of division 2.

Meath: Andrew Colgan; Conor McGill, Seamus Lavin, Ronan Ryan; James McEntee (0-1), Niall Kane, Donal Keogan; Bryan Menton, Shane McEntee (0-1); Cillian O’Sullivan (0-1), Darragh Campion (0-2), Ben Brennan (0-1, 1f); Bryan McMahon, Michael Newman (1-5, 1pen, 5f), Thomas O’Reilly (0-2). Subs: Eoin Lynch for Kane (53mins), Graham Reilly for Brennan (53), Ethan Devine (1-0) for McMahon (64), Michael Burke for O’Sullivan (68), Gavin McCoy for Ryan (70),

Armagh: Blaine Hughes; Connaire Mackin, Aaron McKay, Ryan Kennedy; Aidan Forker, James Morgan, Greg McCabe; Stephen Sheridan (0-1), Niall Grimley; Jemar Hall, Ryan McShane (0-1), Mark Shields; Rian O’Neill (0-5, 5f), Stefan Campbell (0-2), Rory Grugan (0-4, 2f). Subs: Joe McElroy for Campbell (61mins), Jarly Óg Burns for Hall (64), Paul Hughes for Kennedy (68), Aidan Nugent for McShane (68)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.