GAA Results: Dublin get shock over Tipperary

Dublin 1-21 Tipperary 0-23 

Dublin caused an upset in their league quarter final with Tipperary on Saturday and as the saying goes goals wins games and that saying was right here. It was Fergal Whitely’s 5th minute goal that gave Dublin a narrow 2 point in Semple Stadium which sets up a league semi-final next weekend.

Tipperary hit 18 wides in the game which ultimately decided the faith of Liam Sheedy’s men in my opinion. Considering they hammered Cork last weekend this would be considered very poor by Tipperary supporters. It was Mattie Kenny’s men that got the dream start with that Whitely raising a green flag after Oisin O’Rourke’s initial shot as blocked. Dublin pushed on with scores from their half back line, Chris Crummey and Sean Moran scoring. Tipperary fought back with Seamus Callanan, Noel McGrath and Jake Morris. However, some poor shooting kept Dublin ahead at the break by 4 points, 1-10 to 0-09.

Tipperary manager Liam Sheedy must have gave his side a stern talking to at the break as they came out all guns blazing, they were level after 39 minutes in fact. Jason Forde hit two frees, Noel McGrath and Jake Morris also pointing. However, they couldn’t get ahead on the scoreboard. Brendan Maher made a welcome return to the field and was greeted with massive cheers from the Tipperary fans. Mark Kehoe hit two points as the Premier were level again, but Dublin were not be denied here as Eamonn Dillion, Sean Moran and Paul Ryan gave them victory.

Dublin: A Nolan; P Smyth, E O’Donnell (0-1), D Gray; C Crummey (0-1), S Moran (0-5, 3f, 1 ‘65’), D O’Connell; R McBride (0-1), S Treacy; J Malone (0-1), C Conway, D Sutcliffe; O O’Rorke (0-5, 4f), F Whitely (1-0), E Dillon (0-3). Subs: C Boland (0-2) for S Treacy, J Hetherton for C Conway (both HT), P Ryan (0-2) for F Whitely (55mins), R Hayes for J Malone (60), D Treacy for O’Rorke (68)

Tipperary: P Maher; C Barrett, J Barry, R Maher (0-1); Joe O’Dwyer, P Maher, R Byrne; N McGrath (0-4, 1f), M Breen (0-1); J Morris (0-3), N O’Meara (0-1), J Forde (0-7, 6f); John O’Dwyer, S Callanan (0-2), J McGrath (0-1). Subs: P Maher for J McGrath (34mins), B Maher (0-1, 1f) for R Byrne (46), M Kehoe (0-2) for John O’Dwyer (56), A Flynn for M Breen (60), D Maher for N McGrath (73)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.