GAA Results: Dunnes strike secures Wexford win

Cork 0-17 Wexford 1-18 

Wexford got their first win of the 2019 Allianz League campaign with a 1-18 to 0-17 win against Cork at Pairc UI Chaoimh.

Much was made of the playing surface after the Cork v Kildare game . However it was the Model men that didn’t worry about it to much as they got the win. The sides were level at the break 0-10 to 1-07. The Wexford goal coming from David Dunne on 27 minutes. Rory O’Connor was also introduced in the second half and his impact was felt almost instantly with a super score on 36 minutes. This was followed up by a nice point by Diarmuid O’Keeffe.

Cork did have the scores level though 0-14 to 1-11 as the Rebels hit three points to Wexford’s one. St Martin’s brothers Jack and Rory O’Connor tapped over two points to give Wexford some space on the scoreboard. Lehane pointed on 51 minutes but Cork didn’t get any closer than that as Paudie Foley hit over from long way from a free, while Jack O’Connor added two more points to bring his tally up to six for the day.

It was 1-16 to 0-15 in favour of Wexford with 5 minutes to go . Cork substusubs Shane Kingston fired over to but the gap to three but wing back Simon Donohue and Naomh Eanna club man Cathal Dunbar raised white flag for Davy Fitzgerald’s men . It was Dunbar’s 3rd of the day. Wexford were now five ahead moving into injury time.

Patrick Horgan had a free saved by Mark Fanning in the Wexford goal. Horgan pointed though from a dead ball after that. However, there was no time on the clock for John Meylers men to make a comeback and to salvage something from the game .

Wexford: Mark Fanning; Damien Reck, Darren Byrne, Simon Donohoe (0-01; Jack O’Connor (0-06, 0-05 frees), Matthew O’Hanlon, Paudie Foley (0-02, 0-01 free); Shaun Murphy (0-01), Diarmuid O’Keeffe (0-02); David Dunne (1-00), Paul Morris, Kevin Foley; Liam Óg McGovern, Conor McDonald (0-01, free), Cathal Dunbar (0-03).

Subs: Rory O’Connor (0-02) for Dunne (half-time), Lee Chin for McGovern (46), Ian Byrne for Morris (64), Harry Kehoe for McDonald(70).

Cork: Anthony Nash; Seán O’Donoghue, Damien Cahalane, Conor O’Sullivan; Christopher Joyce, Tim O’Mahony (0-02), Mark Coleman; Bill Cooper (0-02), Cormac Murphy (0-01); Conor Cahalane, Michael O’Halloran, Daniel Kearney (0-01); Aidan Walsh (0-04), Patrick Horgan (0-05, frees), Conor Lehane (0-01).

Subs: Luke Meade for Conor Cahalane (25, injured), Shane Kingston (0-01) for O’Halloran (45), Declan Dalton for Lehane (64), Ger Millerick for O’Sullivan (68).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.