GAA Results: Limerick maintain unbeaten start with over Kilkenny

Kilkenny 0-15  Limerick 2-18 

All-Ireland Champions Limerick maintained their unbeaten start to the Allianz League with a convincing 9 point win over Kilkenny at Nowlan Park on Sunday . It was a fantastic burst just before half time that paved the way for the victory in the end.

The win for Limerick was only their first league win over the Cats since 2006 and indeed it was their first win at Nowlan Park since 1997. Richie Leahy was best for Kilkenny scoring 0-07 but their wasn’t that many good performances from Kilkenny men.

The game itself was tight right up until the 32nd minute .It was 0-07 each in fact. Leahy, Maher,  Donnelly and Kelly all pointing for Brian Cody’s charges. Kelly was indeed substituted on 26 minutes in which Leahy took over free taking duties. He did quite well and he did the scores up 0-07 each on 32 minutes with a placed ball, however the game would quickly shift in John Kielys’ men favour. Robbie Hanley but a minute later Limerick got their first goal through Shane Dowling after he was assisted by the impressive Gillane. Dowling gave Murphy no chance in the goal. However things would go from bad to worse for Kilkenny as 30 seconds later Conor Boylan goaled. It came from the puck out from the previous goal in which Limerick won, Graeme Mulcahy assisted Boylan who rounded two defenders before firing to the net. Diarmuid Byrne’s scored from distance before Gillane got his 5th point of the half.

With 50 minutes gone Limerick led by 2-16 to 0-08. They took their foot of the pedal in my opinion hence why Kilkenny narrowed the gap. Brian Cody will probably be happy the way Kilkenny didn’t lie down and give up. That man Leahy went on to hit four points in a row. However it didn’t matter much as the game was already up for the Cats .Limerick face Cork next weekend, while Kilkenny travel to old foes Tipperary.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Richie English, Sean Finn, Tom Condon (0-01); Diarmaid Byrnes (0-01, 0-01f), Dan Morrissey, Paddy O’Loughlin; Robbie Hanley (0-01), Darragh O’Donovan; Conor Boylan (1-01), Shane Dowling (1-02), Kyle Hayes; Barry Murphy (0-01), Aaron Gillane (0-09, 0-06f), Graeme Mulcahy (0-02).

Subs: Tom Morrissey for Boylan (55), Peter Casey for Murphy (56-f/t), Pat Ryan for Mulcahy (62), Gearoid Hegarty for Hanley (69).

Kilkenny: Eoin Murphy; Enda Morrissey, Conor Delaney, Tommy Walsh; Padraig Walsh, Paddy Deegan, Paul Murphy; Conor Fogarty, Martin Keoghan; Richie Leahy (0-07, 0-04f), Walter Walsh, James Maher (0-01); John Donnelly (0-01), Kevin Kelly (0-02, 0-02f), Billy Ryan (0-02).

Subs: Liam Blanchfield (0-01) for Kelly (26), Conor Browne for Fogarty (h/t), Michael Carey for Morrissey (h/t), Ger Malone (0-01) for Maher (51).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.