GAA team News – Mayo unchanged for Donegal clash

GAA team News – Connacht champions Mayo have named an unchanged starting fifteen for Saturday’s much anticipated All Ireland SFC quarter final against Donegal at Croke Park.

The 2012 and 2013 All Ireland finalist’s management team of Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly have stuck with the same team that defeated Sligo 6-25 – 2-11 on July 19, with no new injury concerns appearing since that Connacht final drubbing of the Yeats County.

Aidan O’ Shea is again named at centre forward, but will be expected to roam inside towards the full forward line, where he did so much damage during the defeat of Sligo, scoring 3-04.

This will be Mayo’s fifth consecutive quarter final appearance, with an unblemished record at the last eight stage during this period. The Connacht champions defeated Cork in 2011, Down in 2012, Donegal in 2013 and Cork again in 2014.

Saturday’s game which throws in at 6pm follows the Monaghan v Tyrone quarter final at 4pm, and is a repeat of the 2013 quarter final between the two counties. That day Mayo defeated Donegal on a score line of 4-17 – 1-10, before losing to Dublin in the All Ireland decider.

Mayo: David Clarke, Ger Cafferkey, Donal Vaughan, Keith Higgins; Lee Keegan, Tom Cunniffe, Colm Boyle; Séamus O’Shea, Tom Parsons; Diarmuid O’Connor, Aidan O’Shea, Kevin McLoughlin; Andy Moran, Cillian O’Connor, Jason Doherty.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here