Galway and Cork dominate inaugural minor hurling All Stars awards

Five counties are represented in the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards Hurling Team of the Year for 2017.

Champions Galway, with six, have one more representative than beaten All Ireland Finalists Cork, while Kilkenny, Dublin and Clare also feature in a side selected by a panel of GAA greats from nominees that included the Electric Ireland Man of the Match and Player of the Week winners throughout the season.

The four-man awards selection panel which was unveiled back in March, consisted of legendary former Cork hurler and current Clare hurling selector, Dónal Óg Cusack; former Armagh All Star footballer, Oisín McConville; former Galway hurler and AIB All Ireland Club hurling championship winning manager, Mattie Kenny and Meath Senior football manager Andy McEntee.

Cusack said: “To be named on the Hurling Team of the Year is a real honour for these players, their families, counties, schools and clubs. There is some serious talent in the team and we are looking at the future of hurling there.

“They deserve recognition for the commitment and quality they gave to their teams this year both on and off the pitch and it gives their team-mates and players across the minor championships something to strive for. Only one team can lift the All-Ireland but these great players can be celebrated.”

The players will be formally recognised at the inaugural Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards that will take place at Croke Park on 7 October.

Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Hurling Team of the Year

1. Darrach Fahy — Galway (Ardrahan)

2. Caimin Killeen — Galway (Loughrea)
3. Sean O’Leary Hayes — Cork (Midleton)
4. Darren Morrissey — Galway (Sarsfields)

5. Aidan McCarthy — Clare (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. James Keating — Cork (Kildorrery)
7. Lee Gannon — Dublin (Whitehall Colmcilles)

8. Daire Connery — Cork (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Conor Fahey — Galway (Padraig Pearses)

10. Brian Roche — Cork (Bride Rovers)
11. Sean Currie — Dublin (Na Fianna)
12. Adrian Mullen — Kilkenny (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

13. Sean Bleahene — Galway (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
14. Jack Canning — Galway (Portumna)
15. Brian Turnbull — Cork (Douglas)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.