Ireland Squad for Hurling/Shinty International on Saturday 2pm

Managers Willie Maher (Tipperary) and Conor Phelan (Kilkenny) have named hurlders from 13 counties to represent Ireland in the annual Hurling/Shinty International clash, which takes place against Scotland at Bught Park, Inverness on Saturday.

The Ireland team is lead by Carlow’s David English and is backboned by the experience of Waterford defender Noel Connors, Clare defender David McInerney and Tipperary’s Jason Forde who had such a prolific 2018 season for the Premier County.

Westmeath’s influential Tommy Doyle, Laois goalkeeper Enda Rowland and Meath’s Damien Healy are the only survivors from last year’s squad.

International matches between Hurling and Shinty teams have taken place since 1896.

The throw-in at Bught Park is 2pm as the Irish team hopes to atone for a three point defeat to the Scots last year.

Ireland Squad

  1. Enda Rowland (Laois)
  2. Brian Byrne (Kildare)
  3. Damian Casey (Tyrone)
  4. John Casey (Longford)
  5. Darragh Clinton (Westmeath)
  6. Noel Connors (Waterford)
  7. Danny Cullen (Donegal)
  8. Tommy Doyle (Westmeath)
  9. Darragh Egerton (Westmeath)
  10. David English (Carlow) (captain)
  11. Jason Forde (Tipperary)
  12. Damien Healy (Meath)
  13. Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo)
  14. Gavin McGowan (Meath)
  15. Dave McInerney (Clare)
  16. Bryan Murphy (Kerry)
  17. John Michael Nolan (Carlow)
  18. Stephen Roche (Waterford)
  19. James Toher (Meath)
  20. Seán Weir (Kerry)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.