Kilkenny hammered in ‘Leinster’ final

Kilkenny 2-11   Galway 2-21

Galway have won an historic first ever Leinster title as the Tribesmen beat Kilkenny by 10 points at Croke Park.

Joe Canning ended the game with a total of 1-10 and was comfortably the man of the match as they outfoxed the reigning All-Ireland champion Cats.  Cyril Donnellan also contributed six points from play.

Galway led by 14 points (2-12 to 0-04) at half-time and that gap was much too much for even Kilkenny to overcome in the second half.

After the restart, Kilkenny needed goals and they got one inside the first ten minutes of the re-start when Richie Hogan netted from a Richie Power pass.

Galway, though, replied with three points without reply from Canning (0-02) and David Burke to move 13 points ahead.

Shefflin flicked Kilkenny’s second goal in five minutes to the net to narrow the margin again, but Galway still led 2-19 to 1-11 with only five minutes remaining.

A dogged, determined and no little skilled Galway performance, who maintained their composure in the closing stages to eke out a fantastic and fully deserved victory at GAA headquarters.

Galway: Skehill; Moore, Hynes (0-01), Coen; Collins (0-01), T Og Regan, Donoghue; Tannian (Regan), Smyrg; N Burke (0-01) (Haran), D Burke (1-02), Hayes; Canning (1-10, 7frees), Cooney (Glynn), Donnellan (0-06).

Kilkenny: D Herity; P Murphy, N Hickey, J Tyrell; T Walsh, B Hogan, R Doyle; C Buckley, P Hogan (Rice 27); H Shefflin (1-08, 7frees), TJ Reid (Ruth 58), E Larkin; C Fennelly (Fogarty 23), R Power (0-02), R Hogan (1-00).

Follow hoogenband0110 on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.