Leinster U20 Football Semi-Final: Dubs cruise into Leinster Final with 1-17 to 0-06 win over Wexford

Dublin 1-17 Wexford 0-06

Dublin produced another big win in the Leinster U20 Championship with a 14 point thumping of Wexford at Parnell Park on Tuesday evening. Dublin will now have a Leinster Final to look towards where they will play Laois, date and time will be confirmed in the coming days.

Dublin were massive 1/100 favourites and they showed why their odds were that when they took a 0-04 to 0-00 lead inside the first 13 minutes. Ciaran Archer pointing the first of those from a free. Archer would go to get two more points before James Doran put four between the sides. Wexford got their first score on 14 minutes when Sean Nolan pointed, however, it took the Yellowbellies a further 8 minutes to register their second point, Jamie Meyler the man with the score this time around. Niall O’Leary, Brian O’Leary and a Ciaran Archer free had the Sky Blues ahead 0-09 to 0-02 at the break.

Dublin put the game to bed inside 16 seconds of the second half. Donal Ryan made a lung-bursting run straight through the heart of the Wexford defence the ball eventually found the impressive Ciaran Archer who finished to the net to give Castletown netminder Darragh Brooks no chance in the goal. The gap was out to 10 points. Ciaran Archer was having a field day and he added another two scores one from play and one from a free to make 1-11 to 0-02 after 36 minutes. Michael Molloy kicked two scores, while Darragh Brooks also scored with a free. It was 1-11 to 0-05. However, Dublin were utterly dominant and picked off scores through Archer and Conor Kinsella to run out easy winners.

Dublin: David O’Hanlon; Darren Maher, Daire Newcombe, Eoin O’Dea; Kieran Kennedy, Neil Matthews, Sean Lambe; Peader O’Cofaigh Byrne, Donal Ryan; Niall O’Leary (0-1), Karl Lynch Bisset, James Doran (0-2, 1f); Brian O’Leary (0-2), Ciaran Archer (1-8, 7f), Ross McGarry (0-2, 1f).

Subs: Kieran McKeon for Ross McGarry (40), David Lacey for Karl Lynch Bissett (48), Conor Kinsella (0-2), for Neil Matthews (48), Aaron Lynch for Eoin O’Dea (54), Sean Farrelly for Peadar O’Cofaigh Byrne (57), Evan Caulfield for Niall O’Leary (59).

Wexford: Darragh Brooks (0-1); Killian Pierce, Gavin Sheehan, Liam O’Connor; Byron Byrne, Adam Hogan, Enda Minogue; Ben Maddock, Liam Coleman; Dylan McVeigh, Jamie Myler (0-1), Sean Nolan (0-1); Michael Molloy (0-2), Sean Forde, Ciaran Kavanagh (0-1).

Subs: James Kelly for Adam Hogan (35), Cathal Kirwan for Dylan McVeigh (35), Peter Kelly for Sean Forde (49), Michael Kinsella for Byron Byrne (55), Philip Dempsey for Enda Minogue (60), Jamie Kavanagh for Killian Pierce (60).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.