Munster Hurling Final – Clare v Limerick – Preview, Stats, and Starting Teams

clare v limerick munster hurling
clare v limerick munster hurling

 5,215 total views,  4 views today

Munster Hurling  – Clare v Limerick – Preview, Stats, and Starting Teams , They meet in the final for the first time since 1995 when Clare won.

Limerick are bidding to win the title for the 23rd time; Clare are seeking their seventh success.

Limerick are bidding to win the Munster title for a fourth successive year, something they last achieved in 1933-36. Cork (1982-85) were the last to win the Munster four-in-a-row. They added a fifth in 1986.

Clare last won the Munster title in 1998.

This will be the 60th championship game between the counties. Limerick won 37 to Clare’s 20 with two draws, from the previous 59.

The sides met in this year’s Allianz League when it finished level (0- 18 each) in Ennis in early March.

Clare manager, Brian Lohan was one of the stars in their last Munster final win over Limerick in 1995 when they took the title for the first time in 63 years.

John Kiely is in his sixth season as Limerick manager. Their championship record in that period reads: Played 28; Won 21, Drew 2, Lost 5.

Clare 3-21 Tipperary 2-16 Clare 0-28 Cork 2-20
Clare 0-24 Limerick 1-21 Clare 3-31 Waterford 2-22 Played 4, Won 3, Drew 1

Top Scorers – CLARE
Tony Kelly…………1-33 (0-19 frees),
Peter Duggan…….1-13 (0-3 frees, 0-2 ‘65s’, 0-1 s/l) David Fitzgerald….2-9
Shane O’Donnell……0-9
Ryan Taylor…………….0-9

Limerick 2-25 Cork 1-17 Limerick 0-30 Waterford 2-21 Limerick 3-21Tipperary 0-23 Clare 0-24 Limerick 1-21 Played 4, Won 3, Drew 1.

Top Scorers – LIMERICK
Aaron Gillane……..3-22 (0-13 frees)
Diarmaid Byrnes….0-24 (0-17 frees, 0-2 ‘65s’) Gearoid Hegarty….0-10
Tom Morrissey……….0-8 (0-4 frees)
David Reidy…………..0-7
Cathal O’Neill………….0-7


1995: Clare 1-17 Limerick 0-11

1994: Limerick 0-25 Clare 2-10

1981: Limerick 3-12 Clare 2-9

1974: Limerick 6-14 Clare 3-9

1955: Limerick 2-16 Clare 2-6

Starting Teams

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; William O’Donoghue, Darragh O’Donovan; Gearoid Hegarty, Cathal O’Neill, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Kyle Hayes.

Subs: Barry Hennessy, Ciaran Barry, Conor Boylan, Aaron Costelloe, Colin Coughlan, Adam English, Richie English, Robbie Hanley, Graeme Mulcahy, Oisin O’Reilly, David Reidy.



Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Rory Hayes, Conor Cleary, Paul Flanagan; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInenery; David Reidy, David Fitzgerald; Cathal Malone, Tony Kelly, Shane O’Donnell; Ryan Taylor, Peter Duggan, Ian Galvin.

LiveScores Now Available at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here