Munster U20 Football Final: Cork prove to good for Kerry in 3-16 to 0-12 win

Cork 3-16 Kerry 0-12

Cork won the first-ever Munster U20 Football crown on Thursday evening with a commanding 13 point over neighbours Kerry at Pairc Ui Rinn. The Rebels full-forward line impressed me as did their half-forward line. Cork came into the game after a massive win over Waterford, while Kerry also had a big win over Limerick.

Kerry got the first score of the game through Eddie Horan. Cork responded through with scores from Cathal O’Mahony (free), Damien Gore and Colm Barrett. Cork raised the tempo and intensity of the game, Cathal O’Mahony kicked a wonderful score, Mark Cronin also registered two scores, before O’Mahony sent the crowd into cheers with a superb score from the right win. Kerry began to take a foothold in the game though with Eddie Horan, Fiachra Clifford and Sean O’Leary all pointing. Cork goalkeeper Josh O’Keeffe was called into action twice to deny Eddie Horan. It was 0-10 to 0-06 at the break.

Cork still led by four points on the resumption, but their first goal came early in the second with Blake Murphy raiding through getting on the end of a hopeful ball before finishing to the net. Cork were full value for the win and their defence nothing give much up. Donal O’Sullivan kept Kerry in touch with frees. However, Cork were never going to lose this game they far better on the night than their arch-rivals. They topped off the game with two more goals from Fionn Herlihy and Cathal O’Mahony.

Cork: Josh O’Keeffe; Michael O’Mahony, Maurice Shanley, Paul Ring; Gearoid O’Donovan, Sean Meehan, Peter O’Driscoll (captain); Brian Hartnett, Daniel O’Connell; Colm Barrett (0-2), Colm O’Callaghan (0-1), Mark Hodnett; Mark Cronin (0-5), Cathal O’Mahony (1-5, 1free), Damien Gore (0-2).

Subs: Blake Murphy (1-1) for Hodnett (27), Jack Murphy for O’Connell (35), Daniel O’Connell for Murphy (36, blood),  Fionn Herlihy (1-0) for O’Callaghan (48), Jack Murphy for Barrett (50), Jack McCarthy for O’Donovan (59), Shane Hickey for Meehan (60).

Kerry: Brian Lonergan; Dan McCarthy, Dylan Casey, Michael Potts; Cian Gammell (0-1), Patrick Warren, Seán O’Leary (captain) (0-1); Joseph O’Connor, Barry Mahony; Seán Horan, Eddie Horan (0-3), Adam Donoghue; Fiachra Clifford (0-1), Donal O’Sullivan (0-5, 4 frees), Killian Falvey.

Subs: Cathal Ferriter for Falvey (22), Niall Donohue for McCarthy (34), Brian Friel for Horan (40), Chris O’Donoghue for Casey (40), Paul O’Shea (0-1) for O’Connor (46), Paul Walsh for Clifford (53).

Referee: Alan Kissane (Waterford).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.