Munster U20 Football Semi-Final: Cork hammer Waterford 5-23 to 0-07

Cork 5-23 Waterford 0-07

Cork easily brushed the challenge of Waterford by 31 points in Clonakilty before a crowd of fewer than 1,000 people. Cork will now meet Kerry in the provincial decider. The Rebels full forward line caused the most damage with Cathal O’Mahony, Mark Cronin and Damien Gore doing much of the scoring.

Cork were ahead by 0-04 to 0-00 at the end of the first quarter. But from then on the floodgates opened. On the 13th minute Mark Cronin’s attempt for a point dropped short, the Waterford netminder Jack Coffey fumbled it over the line. Things would go from bad to worse for the Deise as Cathal O’Mahony raided down on goal before finishing an unstoppable effort to the back of the net. Damian Gore would go on to add the third green flag of the half as Cork were sailing through the game. It was 3-12 to 0-02 at the break, Waterford’s scores coming from Darragh Corcoran. The game was basically over at half time and it was damage limitation in the second half for Waterford.

Waterford improved slightly after the break but Cork were just going through the motions. Stephen Curry, Sean Whelan Barrett, Billy Corcoran and Billy Power all pointing. However, those scores were mere consolation scores as Cork could have won this game by more. They actually missed two open goal chances. Keith Ricken introduced substitutes and empties his bench, two of those substitutes raised the 4th and 5th green flags of the game, Jack McCarthy and Colm O’Callaghan doing the scoring.

This game was of no benefit to either team, in my opinion, something has to be looked at surely now after this hammering. Cork could have done with a tougher game but they will look forward to a Munster final in the coming weeks.

Cork: Josh O’Keeffe; Michael O’Mahony (0-01), Maurice Shanley, Paul Ring; Gearoid O’Donovan (0-02), Shane Hickey, Peter O’Driscoll (0-02); Brian Hartnett (0-01), Eanna O’Hanlon; Colm Barrett (0-01), Blake Murphy (0-01), Mark Hodnett (0-03, 0-01f); Mark Cronin (1-03), Cathal O’Mahony (1-04, 0-01f), Damien Gore (1-03).

Subs: Jack McCarthy (1-00) for O’Donovan (ht), Jack Murphy (0-01) for Murphy (38), Colm O’Callaghan (1-00) for Barrett (44), David Buckley for O’Mahony (48), Daniel O’Connell for O’Hanlon (49), Fionn Herlihy (0-01) for Hartnett (55).

Waterford: Jack Coffey; Reece Power, Reece Stringer, Liam Fennell; Mark Twomey, Tom Barron, Sam Fitzgerald; Dan Booth, Brian Lynch; Sean Whelan Barrett (0-01), Stephen Curry (0-01), Billy Power (0-01); Darragh O’Keefe, Larry Walsh, Darragh Corcoran (0-04, 0-01f).

Subs: Billy Hynes for Power (21), James Walsh for Walsh (38), Darragh Power for Power (38), Jack Fitzgerald for Booth (48), Dean Beresford for O’Keefe (48), Dale Cullinane for Stringer (53).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.