Munster U20 Hurling Final: Tipperary claim Munster title with 3-15 to 2-17 win over Cork

Tipperary 3-15 Cork 2-17

Tipperary claimed the Munster U20 Hurling title with a 3-15 to 2-17 win over Cork. Jake Morris was the hero in the end as he hit an injury-time goal as the Premier county men won the inaugural Munster U20 title. It was a superb goal from the young Tipperary senior star as Liam Cahill’s gained revenge for last years U21 Final defeat.

Tipperary made a super start to the game. Liam Cahill’s men had a goal inside three minutes with the man of the match Conor Bowe finishing to the net after a good move up the field. Denis Ring’s men would respond on 10 minutes with a green flag of their own, Sean Twomey got the goal and the Rebels stretched the gap out for four points with scores from Ryan Walsh and Sean Twomey. Jake Morris would register frees for Tipperary to keep them in touch. Kian O’Kelly would register a green flag on 23 minutes. Jake Morris added a point and the sides were level at the break 2-07 to 1-10.

Brian Turnbull, Sean Twomey and Craig Hanifin all hit scores on the resumption to edge Cork back to three points in front. However, Cork couldn’t get that far ahead as Tipperary hit over scores with Jerome Cahill, Andrew Ormond and Jake Morris. It was now on level terms with 45 minutes on the clock. The game was in the melting pot now and Hanifin knocked over a free before Padraig Power hit over a Tipperary point at the other end. Cork surely thought they had won the game when Evan Sheehan fired in a goal with a good ground -stroke. Woods hit over a point for the Premier County, only for Brian Turnbull to restore the Cork two-point lead. However, that advantage was all but gone then when Jake Morris latched onto a loose ball before cutting in from the right-hand side before finishing to the net.

Tipperary: A Browne; C McCarthy; E Connolly, C Morgan; M Purcell, P Cadell, B O’Mara; C Connolly (0-1), J Cahill (0-1); G O’Connor (0-1), J Fogarty, J Morris (1-3, 2f); A Ormond (0-2), B Seymour, C Bowe (1-6). Subs: K O’Kelly (1-0) for Fogarty (20mins), N Heffernan for Purcell (HT), J Ryan for Seymour (45), D Woods (0-1) for O’Kelly (52), R McCormack for Ormond (60).

Cork: G Collins; C O’Callaghan, J Keating, E Roche (0-1); R Downey, S O’Leary Hayes, G Millerick; R Walsh (0-1), D Connery (0-2, 1f); T O’Connell (0-1), C Hanifin (0-4, 3f), S Twomey (1-2); B Turnbull (0-2), S O’Regan (0-3), L O’Shea. Subs: S Kennefick for O’Shea (HT), E Sheehan (1-0) for O’Regan (46mins, inj), P Power (0-1) for Downey (50), B Murphy for Hanafin (56).

Ref: T Walsh (Waterford)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.