National Football League Division 1 – Saturday, 18th March Donegal 0-12 Tyrone 0-6

Tyrone suffered their first league defeat in two years in Ballybofey as Donegal retained their impressive record in the semi-final.

Rory Gallagher’s men confirmed they were league title contenders after getting their third win of the campaign.

Five unanswered points before half-time allowed the hosts lead 0-9 to 0-4 with Ryan McHugh, Michael Murphy, Paddy McGrath, Hugh McFadden and Ciaran Thompson finding the target.

After Sean Cavanagh opened with a Tyrone free, Thompson struck a double to put Donegal ahead on nine minutes.

Rory Brennan kicked Tyrone’s second but the Red Hands struggled and never got within one of Donegal.  Two Peter Harte free concluded their points with Eoin McHugh scoring for Donegal but those five scores pushed the Tir Conaill men clear in the heavy rain.

Cavanagh landed another 22 seconds after the restart but that would be the Ulster champions’ last from play.  Cian Mulligan and Ryan McHugh pushed the margin to six but Donegal did have Paddy McGrath black carded midway during the second half.

Hugh McFadden sent over another Donegal score on 58 minutes before Cavanagh brought his total to three in the final minute.

Donegal dominated the game and looked the sharper unit and this result puts them on seven points and joint top.  With the margins tight at the top of Division One, Gallagher will be relieved relegation is no longer and their Ballybofey unbeaten streak now stands at 17.

For Tyrone, Mickey Harte will be disappointed at his side’s display but they are still in a strong position in the group that will go down to the final round to decide the league finalists.


Donegal – Ciaran Thompson 0-3, Ryan McHugh 0-2, Hugh McFadden 0-2, Frank McGlynn 0-1, Eoin McHugh 0-1, Michael Murphy 0-1, Paddy McGrath 0-1, Cian Mulligan 0-1.

Tyrone – Sean Cavanagh 0-3, Peter Harte 0-2, Rory Brennan 0-1.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here