Super 8’s: Dublin into semi-finals with convincing 2-26 to 0-14 over Roscommon

Dublin 2-26 Roscommon 0-14

Jim Gavin’s Dublin are into an All-Ireland semi-final for the 10th successive year after a facile 18 point win over Roscommon on Saturday at Croke Park. Dublin are through to the semi-finals with an extra game to spare. The Dubs play Tyrone in Omagh in two weeks time which will determine what side tops the group. Anthony Cunningham’s Roscommon will play Cork in two weeks in a dead rubber at Pairc Ui Rinn.

Roscommon opened the scoring with a point from play inside 15 seconds. In saying that he should have scored a goal. Dean Rock missed a free, but it was called back to be retaken by referee Barry Cassidy as some of the Roscommon players weren’t back the required distance. He kicked it straight over and the sides were level. Diarmid Murtagh and Rock traded scores before the Ballymun man gave the Dubs the lead. Conor Cox would level up matters though. Con O’Callaghan was causing a huge amount of trouble in the Roscommon full -back line and he made a superb catch before firing over. Dean Rock then fisted an effort over the bar after a good diagonal ball across the square from Paul Mannion. Dublin had a goal then through Dean Rock when he palmed the ball to the net in a move that started with Jack McCaffrey. Ciaran Kilkenny hit a brace of points to make it 1-07 to 0-03 after 19 minutes. A goal chance for O’Callaghan came back off the post, while at the other end Diarmuid Murtagh was denied by Cluxton. Cox kicked Roscommon fifth score of the game before O’Callaghan fired over a point. Mannion and Cox traded scores as Dublin led by 7 after 25 minutes. Dean Rock kicked two routine frees to extend the gap even further. Roscommon were reduced to 14 men on 33 minutes as Conor Daly was given a black card for tripping Con O’Callaghan to go with his yellow card which then turned to red. Rock kicked the free.

The gap was out to 16 points with 37 minutes played. Michael Dara McAuley netting for the second game in succession, before McCaffrey and Rock pointed. Cox and Rock traded scores then, while Conor Hussey and Niall Daly also pointed. Paddy Small and Sean Mulloolly kicked scores before Conor Cox pointed a brace as the game was petering out. Dublin kicked five scores in a row through Rock, McMenamon and Scully. Rock knocked over a free then with just three minutes left before Paddy Small kicked a sublime score. Brian Fenton and Conor Hussey traded scores before Paddy Small kicked his third to give Dublin a 16 point win.

Dublin:  Stephen Cluxton; Jonny Cooper, Philip McMahon, Michael Fitzsimons; Jack McCaffrey (0-01), John Small, James McCarthy; Brian Fenton (0-02), Michael Darragh Macauley (1-01); Niall Scully (0-01), Ciarán Kilkenny (0-02), Brian Howard; Con O’Callaghan (0-02), Paul Mannion (0-02), Dean Rock (1-11, 0-10 frees).

Subs used: Paddy Small (0-03) for Mannion (39), Kevin McManamon (0-01) for Kilkenny (39), Eric Lowndes for Fitzsimons (47), Rory O’Carroll for McCaffrey (47), Paddy Andrews for O’Callaghan (52), David Byrne for Macauley (61, black card).

Roscommon: Darren O’Malley; Seán Mullooly (0-01), David Murray, Conor Daly; Ronan Daly, Conor Hussey (0-03), Niall Daly (0-01); Enda Smith, Shane Killoran; Brian Stack, Cathal Cregg, Niall Kilroy; Diarmuid Murtagh (0-01), Conor Cox (0-07, 0-04 frees), Colin Compton (0-01).

Subs used: Fintan Cregg for Smith (9, temp)Fintan Cregg for Killoran (half-time), Aengus Lyons for Compton (45), John McManus for C Cregg (47), Andrew Glennon for Murtagh (52), Gary Patterson for Murray (60), Cian McKeon for Kilroy (66).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.