Super 8’s: Kerry hammer Mayo 1-22 to 0-15 despite O’Connor breaking all time top scorer record

Kerry 1-22 Mayo 0-15

Kerry proved far too strong for Mayo as they won by 10 points at a sunny Killarney on Sunday. Kerry will now travel to Croke Park next weekend for a mouth-watering tie with Donegal in a game that if they win would almost guarantee them a semi-final spot. Mayo, on the other hand, will have to get a win against Meath next weekend or their ambitions of reaching an All-Ireland semi-final will end for sure.

Kerry led by 0-07 to 0-03 after 10 minutes. Lee Keegan opened the scoring for Mayo, but Kerry kicked four points in a row through Sean O’Shea, David Clifford (2), and Paul Geaney. Darren Coen and Fionn McDonagh kicked scores and the gap was down to one. However, Sean O’Shea kicked over three frees to give the Kingdom a lead of four points. David Moran kicked a sublime score on 24 minutes before Stephen O’Brien knocked over another score a minute later. It was 0-11 to 0-04 and it was plain sailing for Kerry. Clifford scored a nice free from right on the sideline, Mayo were really struggling with the high intensity. Geaney knocked over another Kerry point. Coen knocked over a nice Mayo point to try to get something going in the attack, but Kerry through O’Brien responded immediately. Cillian O’Connor knocked over a free to end the scoring for the half.

Cillian O’Connor opened the scoring in the second half but Fossa man Clifford fisted an effort over the bar in response. Sean O’Shea stretched the gap out to 10 points with a free, 0-17 to 0-07. Coen and O’Shea traded scores before Cillian O’Connor pointed a brace to become the all-time championship scorer passing out Kerry legend Colm Cooper. However, this as good as it got for Mayo in Killarney as the hosts piled on the misery for the large travelling supporters in the green and red. Paul Geaney palmed the ball to the net after been assisted by Stephen O’Brien on 56 minutes, The game was long over before that though. Cillian O’Connor was denied a goal from the penalty spot. It just wasn’t to be for Mayo. Andy Moran, Boland and Treacy all knocked over scores but it was far too late for Mayo. Man of the match David Clifford chipped over his 7th point of the day on 66 minutes before Graham O’Sullivan closed the scoring. A massive improvement is needed for Mayo next weekend in Croke Park against Meath.

Kerry: Shane Ryan; Tom O’Sullivan, Jason Foley, Tadhg Morley; Paul Murphy, Shane Enright, Gavin Crowley; David Moran (0-1), Adrian Spillane; Gavin White, Sean O’Shea (0-7, 6f), Stephen O’Brien (0-3); Paul Geaney (1-2), David Clifford (0-7, 2f); James O’Donoghue (0-1). Subs: Dara Moynihan for O’Donoghue (HT), Graham O’Sullivan (0-1) for Enright (50mins), Diarmuid O’Connor for Spillane (57), Brian Ó Beaglaoich for Foley (62), Micheál Burns for Geaney (68), Mark Griffin for Crowley (70).

Mayo: David Clarke; Keith Higgins, Brendan Harrison, Chris Barrett; Lee Keegan (0-1), Stephen Coen, Colm Boyle; Donal Vaughan, Aidan O’Shea; Fionn McDonagh (0-1), Kevin McLoughlin, Jason Doherty; Cillian O’Connor (0-6, 3f, 1 pen), Darren Coen (0-3), James Carr. Subs: Seamus O’Shea for McDonagh (HT), Andy Moran (0-2) for Carr (46mins), Ciaran Treacy (0-1) for McLoughlin (47), Fergal Boland (0-1) for Coen (51), James McCormack for Keegan (59), Eoin O’Donoghue for Barrett (65).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.